Finalists selected for Presidential Award in Mathematics and Science teaching


Four Ohio teachers are now in the running for the Presidential Awards in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). These are the highest honors that the United States government bestows on kindergarten through grade 12 teachers.

One mathematics and three science teachers from Ohio will move forward to the national competition later this school year. A national committee will choose up to 108 winners nationwide for the presidential awards.

Ohio’s kindergarten through grade 6 teacher finalist for mathematics is:

  • Krystina Pratt, a third grade teacher at New Albany Primary School in New Albany-Plain Local Schools
Ohio’s kindergarten through grade 6 teacher finalists for science are:
  • Paula Eschbach, a fifth-grade teacher at Tremont Elementary in Upper Arlington City Schools
  • Kayla Heimann, a fifth-grade teacher at Eastern Elementary in Lexington Local School District
  • Stephanie Nowak, a fourth-grade teacher at Fairfax Elementary in Mentor Exempted Village Schools
The 2020 competition recognizes kindergarten through grade 6 educators. In 2021, it will recognize teachers of grades 7-12. For more information about this award program, see the Ohio Department of Education’s webpage.