Finalists selected for presidential award in mathematics and science teaching


Six Ohio teachers are now in the running for the Presidential Awards in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). These are the highest honors that the U.S. government bestows to kindergarten through grade 12 teachers.
Two mathematics and four science teachers from Ohio will move forward to the national competition later this upcoming school year, when a national committee will choose up to 108 winners nationwide for the presidential awards. Ohio’s 7-12 grade teacher finalists include:


  • Jacqueline Lehmkuhl – High School Pre-Calculus and Geometry, Troy City Schools, Troy
  • Julie Randolph – Middle School Mathematics, Alexander Local Schools, Athens County
  • Kip Brady – High School Biology and Advanced Placement Chemistry, New Philadelphia City Schools, New Philadelphia
  • Robin Dauman – High School Biology, Clearview Local Schools, Lorain
  • Gloria Gajewicz – High School Physics and Geoscience, Bowling Green City Schools, Bowling Green
  • Jacqueline Kane – High School Science, Saint Ursula Academy, Toledo

The competition recognizes grade 7-12 educators this year and the following year, kindergarten through grade 6 teachers. For more information about this award program, see the Department’s webpage.