From the Superintendent




Four Ohio high school seniors were announced last week as U.S. Presidential Scholars, one of the highest honors for high school students in the United States. This year’s Ohio Presidential Scholars are:


Kevin Hwang, Athens High School, The Plains;

Alyssa M. Bryan, Hathaway Brown School, Shaker Heights;

Drake S. Thomas, Dublin Coffman High School, Dublin; and

Sean M. Howe, Toledo School for the Arts, Toledo.


Ohio’s honorees were among 141 high school seniors across the nation that make up the 49th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars.


The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects winners annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and commitment to high ideals. A complete list of 2013 U.S. Presidential Scholars is available here.


Ohio’s four U.S. Presidential Scholars represent small town, suburban and urban districts and demonstrate that sterling achievement is possible in all kinds of Ohio school districts. I believe the real lesson we should take away, though, is that sterling achievement also is possible for all kinds of students—if we adults are strongly enough committed to it.


We need to think about what it might take to enable the seemingly most unlikely students to achieve at high levels, and we need to do those things—no matter what it takes. One of my core beliefs is that every child has the potential to learn and be successful in school and life, and I will be continually challenging districts to make that happen.


Thank you for all you are doing and will do to empower Ohio’s boys and girls.




Dr. Richard A. Ross