Facts and Figures

Ohio Education Minute

Press Kits

Ohio Education Daily News Summary

Media Releases

Ohio Department of Education Press Releases

Eleven Local Schools Earn the Blue Ribbon Schools Award

Release date: 10/23/2012

“We want to congratulate the 11 Ohio schools in northeast Ohio for this outstanding accomplishment and praise them for helping students reach their potential,” said Acting Superintendent of Public Instruction Michael Sawyers. “These schools are committed to preparing students for success in college and careers and should serve as models for other schools in the state.”

Ohio’s Blue Ribbon Awardees were not included in the Department of Education’s original release because the Ohio Department of Education (ODE) had not verified AYP status due to the ongoing investigation into attendance data. With the recent release of preliminary report card data, the Department is confident that the following schools data is accurate and their recognition deserved.

The schools selected as National Blue Ribbon Schools include:
Cuyahoga County

  • Bassett Elementary School, Westlake City School District;
  • 0Butternut Elementary School, North Olmsted City Schools;
  • Hilliard Elementary School, Westlake City School District;
  • Independence Primary School, Independence Local School District;
  • Rocky River High School, Rocky River City School District;
  • St. Dominic School, Diocese of Cleveland;
  • Summit County

    • Holy Family School, Diocese of Cleveland;
    • Our Lady of the Elms Elementary School;

    Medina County

    • Lincoln Elementary School, Wadsworth City School District;

    Wayne County

    • Chippewa High School, Chippewa Local School District;

    Ashland County

    • St. Edward School, Diocese of Cleveland.

    Other National Blue Ribbon schools in Ohio include:

    • Arcadia High School, Arcadia Local School District, Hancock County;
    • Ohio Fairbanks High School, Fairbanks Local School District, Union County;
    • Horizon Science Academy, Lucas County ESC, Franklin County;
    • Jefferson Avenue Elementary School, Shadyside Local School District, Belmont County;
    • Lincoln Elementary School, Tiffin City School District, Seneca County;
    • Western Reserve High School, Western Reserve Local School District, Mahoning County.

    The USDOE recognized more than 270 schools as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools based on their overall academic excellence, or for making progress in improving student academic achievement levels. The National Blue Ribbon Schools award honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools.

    The Department will honor the schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 12-13 in Washington, D.C. In its 30-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on nearly 7,000 of America's schools.

    The program recognizes schools in one of two performance categories. The first category is "Exemplary High Performing," in which schools are recognized among their state's highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests. The second category is "Exemplary Improving," in which schools that have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests.

    To select National Blue Ribbon Schools, the Department requests nominations from the top education official in every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates private schools. A total of 417 schools nationwide may be nominated, with allocations determined by the numbers of K-12 students and schools in each jurisdiction. The Secretary of Education invites nominated schools to submit an application for possible recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School.