Sign-up of texting alerts

Ed Connection Newsletter

Extra Credit Ohio Department of Education Blog

Facts and Figures

Contact Information

Brittany Halpin

Associate Director for Media Relations
(614) 728-5959

Media Releases

Ohio Department of Education Press Releases

Dr. Laura Meeks Steps Down from Youngstown Academic Distress Commission, John Richard Appointed

Release date: 5/31/2016

Dr. Lonny J. Rivera, interim state superintendent of public instruction, today accepted the resignation of Youngstown Academic Distress Commission member Dr. Laura Meeks, effective June 1, 2016, a position she held since May of 2015.

Prior to her appointment to the commission, Dr. Meeks was president of Eastern Gateway Community College for 16 years.

“Dr. Meeks served the commission well with a continuing passion for students,” said Dr. Lonny J. Rivera, interim state superintendent of public instruction. “She brought with her a special skill set that helped the commission identify problems and find solutions. We thank her for her service.”

Upon the announcement, the Ohio Department of Education named John Richard as a member of the Youngstown Academic Distress Commission.

Richard currently serves as associate executive director of the Ohio Association of Secondary School Administrators and is a member of the Lorain Academic Distress Commission. He has an extensive background in education leadership. He was formerly an associate superintendent at the Ohio Department of Education, overseeing school performance and improvement. Additionally, Richard was superintendent of Perry Local Schools in Stark County, where he established an international baccalaureate diploma program, expanded college options for high school students and fostered the improvement of professional learning communities throughout the district; assistant superintendent in Avon Lake City Schools from 2003-2005; director of personnel at Maple Heights City Schools; and a principal within Chagrin Falls Exempted Village Schools from 1996-2002.

You can learn more about the Youngstown Academic Distress Commission by clicking here.