Sign-up of texting alerts

Ed Connection Newsletter

Extra Credit Ohio Department of Education Blog

Facts and Figures

Contact Information

Brittany Halpin

Associate Director for Media Relations
(614) 728-5959

Media Releases

Ohio Department of Education Press Releases

Ohio Department of Education Announces Newly Designated STEM Schools

Release date: 4/26/2017

OhioSTEMlogo-2.pngOhio’s STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Committee recently approved 12 new STEM schools for next school year that will focus on inquiry and a design-thinking approach to science, technology, engineering, mathematics, the arts and humanities. Thanks to new legislation, elementary schools (kindergarten through fifth grade) are now able to receive the designation.

The newly designated schools include:

  • Herbert Mills Elementary (Franklin County);
  • Northwestern Elementary School (Wayne County);
  • Springmill STEM Elementary (Richland County);
  • Summit STEM Elementary (Franklin County);
  • Willoughby-Eastlake School of Innovation (Lake County);
  • Mater Dei Academy (Lake County);
  • St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception (Lorain County);
  • St. Sebastian Parish School (Summit County);
  • Canal Winchester Middle School (Franklin County);
  • Hull Prairie Intermediate School (Wood County);
  • Ranger High-Tech Academy (Lorain County);
  • St. Ambrose School (Medina County);
  • New Hope Christian Academy (Pickaway County) (adds grades K-5 to designation);
  • Dayton Early College Academy (DECA) PREP (adds grades K-5 to designation);
  • St. Mary School (Geauga County);
  • St. Vincent – St. Mary High School (Summit County).

To view the complete list of Ohio’s STEM schools, click here.

Proposals for STEM schools must include the following:

  • Evidence of a working partnership with both public and private entities, including higher education entities and business organizations;
  • Evidence that the school submitting the proposal will offer a rigorous, diverse, integrated and project-based curriculum to students in any of grades kindergarten through 12, with the goal to prepare those students for college, the workforce, and citizenship, and that:
    • Emphasizes the role of science, technology, engineering and mathematics in promoting innovation and economic progress and incorporates scientific inquiry and technological design;
    • Includes the arts and humanities; and
    • Emphasizes personalized learning and teamwork skills.

The STEM Committee approves the designation. The committee consists of the superintendent of public instruction, representatives from the departments of Higher Education and Development, and four appointed members of the public with expertise in business or STEM fields.

To learn more about STEM education in Ohio, click here.