Sign-up of texting alerts

Ed Connection Newsletter

Extra Credit Ohio Department of Education Blog

Facts and Figures

Contact Information

Carolyn Cypret 

Associate Director for Media Relations
(614) 387-2267

Venessa Menerey

Communications Specialist
(614) 728-5959

Media Releases

Ohio Department of Education Press Releases

Teachers of the Year Announced for 11 State Board of Education Districts

Release date: 7/30/2018

Eleven teachers across Ohio each bear the title 2019 Teacher of the Year for their respective State Board of Education districts, the Ohio Department of Education announced today. The awards are part of the Ohio Teacher of the Year program.

“Teachers are at the forefront of Ohio’s charge to create bright, exciting futures for our students,” said Paolo DeMaria, Ohio’s superintendent of public instruction. “The Ohio Teacher of the Year program recognizes inspiring educators who elevate our public education system and ensure real-world success for our students.”

School administrators, fellow educators, parents, students and community members nominated teachers for the district awards. A State Board of Education member representing each district worked with local committees of educators and often parents and business leaders to select the district’s awardee.

An Ohio panel of education and community stakeholders will interview four state finalists from the State Board district awardees to select the Ohio Teacher of the Year. The state superintendent will announce the statewide honoree this fall.

The Ohio Teacher of the Year will represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year selection in spring 2019, sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers.


Note: The State Board District Teachers of the Year are below. See individual news releases and photographs by clicking here.

Teachers of the Year for State Board Districts:

State Board District 1
Robert Sloan​
Van Wert High School, Van Wert City Schools

State Board District 2
Mona Al-Hayani​ (Finalist)
Toledo Early College High School, Toledo Public Schools

State Board District 3
Jason Whited​
Centerville High School, Centerville City Schools

State Board District 4
Bre Sambuchino​ (Finalist)
Loveland High School, Loveland City School District

State Board District 5
Chef Chris Olszewski
Polaris Career Center, Polaris Joint Vocational School District

State Board District 6
Jennifer M. LaPlace​
Centennial High School, Columbus City Schools

State Board District 7
David Kaser​ (Finalist)
Barberton High School, Barberton City Schools

State Board District 8
Michele Monigold​
Jackson High School, Jackson Local School District (Stark County)

State Board District 9
Lisa Wolfe​
Indian Valley High School, Indian Valley Local Schools

State Board District 10
Nancy Reeves​
East Clinton Middle School, East Clinton Local Schools

State Board District 11
Catherine Duplisea​ (Finalist)
Orchard STEM School, Cleveland Metropolitan School District