Media News Center

Media News Center

Sign-up of texting alerts

Ed Connection Newsletter

Extra Credit Ohio Department of Education Blog

Facts and Figures

Media Releases for 1/2020

Ohio Department of Education Press Releases

 Sign up to automatically receive ODE press releases.

View public meeting notices

Follow us on social media to keep up-to-date on everything happening in Ohio Education:


CCSSO Announces Four Finalists for 2020 National Teacher of the Year

The Council of Chief State School Officers today announced that four dedicated educators from around the country have been named finalists for the 2020 National Teacher of the Year. The four finalists, in alphabetical order, are Chris Dier, the 2020 Louisiana Teacher of the Year; Leila Kubesch, the 2020 Ohio Teacher of the Year; Tabatha Rosproy, the 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year; and Linda Rost, the 2020 Montana Teacher of the Year.

Read More

Ohio Department of Education Awards Schools for Commitment to Military Families

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Paolo DeMaria today announced that 94 schools across Ohio will receive the coveted Purple Star Award this school year. The Purple Star designation recognizes schools that demonstrate a major commitment to serving students and families connected to the United States armed forces.

Read More