The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the nation's highest honors for mathematics and science teachers. The program recognizes teachers for their contributions to instruction and learning, as well as their ability to help students make progress in mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Nomination and Application

Applications are being accepted for teachers of grades 7-12.  See eligibility criteria and apply online at

Why apply?

In addition to recognizing outstanding teaching in mathematics or science, the program provides teachers with an opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital resource for improving science, technology, engineering and mathematics education, and keeping America globally competitive.

Who is eligible in 2019?

  Application Opens Nomination Deadline Application Deadline
Middle/High School
November 2018 April 1, 2019 May 1, 2019


Presidential Awardees receive a:

  • Citation signed by the President of the United States;
  • Paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities; and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.


Wendy Teisman (left) - Intermediate Gifted Math teacher at Forest Hills School District

Vicki Willet (right) - First Grade Science teacher at Licking Heights Local School District


To see a list of all Ohio Finalists, click here.


Last Modified: 3/8/2019 7:58:54 AM