ESEA: Support Schools and Districts

ESEA Waiver School Requirements 2015

The U.S. Department of Education has renewed Ohio’s Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) flexibility waiver. As a part of the renewal, the Ohio Department of Education re-evaluated student performance data in Ohio’s districts and schools to update its lists of districts and schools that need state support to improve student performance.

We refer to the schools and districts on these lists as “Support Schools” and “Support Districts.” School support categories include Priority, Focus and Watch schools. District support categories include Independent, Moderate Support, Intensive Support and Academic Distress Commission districts. Each category of support schools and districts receives a distinct package of supports from the Ohio Department of Education that corresponds to improvement needs. Ohio calls this its “differentiated accountability” system.

Priority Schools
Watch Schools
Reward Schools
Focus Schools
District Support
Support FAQs

Ohio’s ESEA Waiver Renewal at a Glance

  • Allows our state to target support to the most at-risk schools while rewarding schools for high student performance and progress.
  • Makes the state’s school improvement structure and the supports contained in it clearer.
  • Extends Ohio’s permit to eliminate double testing in middle schools.
  • Contains a Career Pathways Model schools can use to better prepare their students for high school diplomas and careers.

More information about the ESEA Flexibility Waiver can be found here.

Last Modified: 5/23/2018 5:39:09 PM