Preservice Classes and Regional Instructors

Ohio law requires new school bus drivers to attend 15 hours of classroom training, and drivers completing a six-year recertification are required to attend nine hours of classroom training. The instruction is provided by preservice instructors who are assigned to certain counties in eight geographic regions of Ohio.

The current preservice class schedule may be downloaded by clicking below:   

Contact information for those instructors follows:


InstructorJoe Dietrich
Secretary:  Amy Mauk
Superintendent: Craig Kupferberg
Telephone: 419.222.1836 x110
Facsimile: 419.224.0718
LocationAllen County ESC, 1920 Slabtown Road, Lima, OH 45801
Counties: Allen, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Paulding, Putnam, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood, Wyandot



InstructorMichael Redfern
SecretaryApril Johnson
SuperintendentWilliam Koran
Telephone: 330.723.6393 x147
Facsimile: 330.723.0573
Medina County ESC, 124 W. Washington Street, Medina, OH  44256-1999
Counties: Ashland, Crawford, Cuyahoga, Erie, Huron, Lorain, Medina, Ottawa, Richland, Sandusky



InstructorBill Leaming 
SecretaryLaurie Powers
SuperintendentMike Candela
Telephone: 330-360-2537
Facsimile: 440.576.3065
LocationAshtabula County ESC, 4200 State Rd, Ashtabula, OH 44004
Counties: Ashtabula, Geauga, Lake, Mahoning, Portage, Summit, Trumbull



Instructor: Evette Moody
SecretaryAmber LeValley
SuperintendentDr. Daniel Kaffenbarger
Telephone: 937.484.1557
Facsimile: 937.484.1571
LocationMadison-Champaign County ESC, 2200 US Hwy 68, Urbana, OH 43078
Counties: Auglaize, Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Logan, Madison, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby



Instructor: Michael Hoffner
SecretaryCindy Wood
SuperintendentTy Ankrom
Telephone: 740.474.7529
Facsimile: 740.474.7251
LocationPickaway County ESC, 2050 Stoneridge Drive, Circleville, OH 43113
Counties: Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Hocking, Knox, Licking, Marion, Morrow, Perry, Pickaway, Union



InstructorRob Higgenbotham
SecretaryStacy Sanders
Superintendent: Randy Lucas
Telephone: 330.308.9939
Facsimile: 330.313.3645
LocationEast Central Ohio ESC, 834 East High Avenue, New Philadelphia, OH  44663
Counties: Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Stark, Tuscarawas, Wayne



InstructorBrandon Anness
Secretary: Lori Socha
SuperintendentTom Isaacs
Telephone: 513.695.2900 option 4 or ext. 2927
Facsimile: 513.695.2961
LocationWarren County ESC, 1879 Deerfield Rd, Lebanon, OH 45036
Counties: Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Fayette, Hamilton, Warren



InstructorMarvin Pennington
SecretaryMary Conley
SuperintendentEric Meredith
Telephone: 740.289.4243
Facsimile: 740.289.8891
LocationPike County CTC, 175 Beaver Creek Road, PO Box 577, Piketon, OH  45661
Counties: Adams, Athens, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, Washington

Last Modified: 11/21/2019 1:05:04 PM