Standards Revision in Fine Arts and World Languages

In 2012, the State Board of Education adopted the current Ohio’s Learning Standards for Fine Arts and World Languages. This year, as part of the revision cycle for content area standards, the fine arts and world languages standards will be updated.

The Ohio Department of Education currently defines fine arts as dance, drama/theatre, music and visual arts. During the revision cycle, media arts will be considered as an additional content area within the fine arts standards.

Ohio’s Learning Standards for World Languages currently feature three versions (for grades K-12, 6-12 and 9-12) to account for multiple program entry points based on local decision-making. All three versions will be available for public comment and subsequent revision.

The updated standards in both disciplines are intended to be adopted by the State Board of Education by late 2019. After adoption, committees will be formed to create updated model curricula for each content area.

The survey to provide comments on the standards will be available from early December 2018 through early January 2019. Access to the survey is available below.

Learn More about Standards Revision

Advisory Committees

An advisory committee of education association representatives will review all survey comments. The committees will determine where changes are needed and refer those standards to the working groups to draft the revisions.

  • Fine Arts Advisory Committee — Organizations represented (coming soon)
  • World Languages Advisory Committee — Organizations represented (coming soon)

Volunteer working groups

Working groups of educators will draft proposed standards revisions based on guidance from survey feedback and the advisory committees.

For more information or questions about the fine arts and world languages standards revision, please email

Last Modified: 2/15/2019 5:39:29 PM