Ohio Open Enrollment Task Force

The Ohio Open Enrollment Task Force issued a report on December 31, 2013 to the Governor, Senate and House of Representatives.  The Task Force was created in the 2014-2015 budget bill and was charged with examining the impact of open enrollment.

Additional resources on Open Enrollment:

Task Force Members included:

  • Steve Dackin, Superintendent - Reynoldsburg City (Chair)
  • Bruce Steenrod, Treasurer – Federal Hocking Local
  • Kevin Robertson, Treasurer – Sandusky City
  • Jenni Logan, Treasurer – Lakota Local
  • Tim Myers, Superintendent – Van Buren Local
  • Bill Stauffer, Superintendent – Springfield Local
  • Steve Thompson, Superintendent – Willoughby-Eastlake Local
  • Steve Switzer, Superintendent – Pettisville Local
  • Jon Saxton, Superintendent, Chillicothe City
  • Scott Inskeep, Superintendent Reading Community City Schools
  • Debbie Gossett, Treasurer – Miami Valley Career Technology Center
  • Kellie Lester, Treasurer – East Holmes Local
  • Dan Good, Superintendent – Columbus City

ODE support Staff

  • Eric Bode, Executive Director, ODE
  • Kelly Weir, Executive Director, ODE
  • David Hansen, Executive Director, ODE
  • Tom Gumpf, Area Coordinator, ODE
  • Billy Toney, Area Coordinator, ODE

H.B. 59

SECTION 263.450. (A) The Ohio Open Enrollment Task Force is hereby established to review and make recommendations on open enrollment. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall consult with the Governor's Office of 21st Century Education to convene a taskforce that consists of representatives from school districts that represent all sectors of Ohio's educational community.
(B) The Superintendent shall designate the chairperson of the Task Force. All meetings of the Task Force shall be held at the call of the chairperson.
(C) The Task Force shall review and make recommendations regarding the process by which students may enroll in other school districts under open enrollment and the funding mechanisms associated with open enrollment deductions and credits.
(D) Not later than December 31, 2013, the Task Force shall issue a report of its findings and recommendations to the Governor, the President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Upon issuance of the report, the Task Force shall cease to exist.

Last Modified: 1/3/2014 4:01:08 PM