A Guide for Restart
During the coronavirus-related (COVID-19) ordered school-building closure, the focus was on ensuring educators were provided with the resources and flexibility needed to apply for or renew their license, certificate or permit. Now, as districts begin to plan for reopening, the information on this webpage is intended to help educators understand the licensure flexibility provided for the 2020-2021 school year to support educators as they apply for or renew their license, certificate or permit.
The ongoing coronavirus health crisis has not disrupted the ability of the Ohio Department of Education to receive and process applications and renewals for licensure. The Office of Educator Licensure currently is processing applications within five to seven business days and is ready to assist educators, schools and districts with their licensure-related inquiries and needs.
FLEXIBILITY FOR CURRENT EDUCATORS WHOSE LICENSES WERE PREVIOUSLY SET TO EXPIRE JULY 1, 2020
The Ohio Department of Education is providing flexibility regarding the licensure renewal deadline. All licenses previously set to expire on July 1, 2020, have had their expiration dates extended to Sept. 1, 2020, and will be extended further as necessary according to the end date of the state of emergency as outlined below. This license expiration extension will allow educators additional time to complete their requirements for renewal.
With the passage of House Bill 197 of the 133rd General Assembly, the coronavirus relief bill, flexibility has been provided to educators should the state of emergency declared by executive order (Executive Order 2020-01D signed by the Governor on March 9, 2020) extend into the fall. Under this law, the period for educators to complete their renewal requirements and renew their licenses will extend to 90 days after the state of emergency is lifted, but not later than December 1, 2020, whichever date comes first. Educators’ current licenses will remain valid during this period as well. The Department cannot provide a fixed date for licensure expiration until the current state of emergency is lifted, but the possible scenarios are as follows:
- If the period of the emergency declared by executive order ends on any day before September 2, 2020 (90 days before December 1, 2020), all licenses will expire, and must be renewed by 90 days from the day the emergency order ends.
- If the period of the emergency declared by the executive order ends on any day after September 2, 2020, all licenses will expire on, and must be renewed by December 1, 2020.
Educators will need to complete their legally required professional development by the expiration date as outlined above and determined by the end date of the executive order, or an additional three semester hours of professional development will be required for renewal. Educators may need to adjust their individual professional development plans as needed.
Please note that these extensions do not apply to any educator whose license, certificate or permit is suspended as of June 30, 2020. As more information about the end date for the emergency declared by executive order becomes available, this website will be updated to provide up to date information regarding licensure expiration and renewal periods, so please check back for future clarifications.
LOCAL PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEES
Current educators whose licenses expire this year should contact their Local Professional Development Committees and work to modify, as needed, their individual professional development plans as soon as possible. Although many in-person professional development opportunities have been canceled, educators can continue to take advantage of remote and web-based professional development opportunities as approved by their Local Professional Development Committees.
Local Professional Development Committees are encouraged to continue meeting via telephone, video-conference or other remote means. If a meeting is subject to Ohio’s Open Meetings Act, districts should work with their legal counsels to determine how best to proceed. These committees also should be flexible in their approaches to reviewing and approving professional development considering the current circumstances.
FEDERAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION AND/OR BUREAU OF CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION AND IDENTIFICATION BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR CURRENT AND PROSPECTIVE EDUCATORS
The Ohio Department of Education has been notified by the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) and Identification it is processing background checks at this time. Any applicant who needs to complete a background check should contact BCI at (877) 224-0043 for instructions on how to complete fingerprint collection at home.
CURRENT UNIVERSITY OR COLLEGE STUDENTS ENROLLED IN EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAMS
The Ohio departments of Education and Higher Education have worked with educator preparation programs to create more flexible pathways for students to complete their clinical experience requirements. Please contact your college or university and work with your educator preparation program to determine your pathway to completion.
ONE-YEAR TEMPORARY LICENSES
The Ohio Department of Education understands the current situation impedes the ability of applicants to take their initial licensure examinations, including the Ohio Assessments for Educators (OAE), American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) testing and others. At this time, it is unknown how long this disruption will last. In response to this unprecedented situation, the Ohio Department of Education has been granted the authority (HB 197 of the 133rd General Assembly; Section 17(H)) to issue a one-time, one-year temporary license for the 2020-2021 school year to applicants who meet all other qualifications for licensure but have been unable to complete their required initial licensure examinations. Under this one-year temporary license, an applicant can apply to advance his or her license upon successful completion of the required licensure examinations. The period of time for which the one-year temporary license is available will extend to 90 days after the state of emergency is lifted, but not later than December 1, 2020, whichever date comes first
. The Department cannot provide a fixed date for the cessation of the one-year temporary license until the current state of emergency is lifted, but the possible scenarios are as follows:
- If the period of the emergency declared by executive order ends on any day before September 2, 2020 (90 days before December 1, 2020), the one-year temporary license will be offered until 90 days from the day the emergency order ends.
- If the period of the emergency declared by the executive order ends on any day after September 2, 2020, this one-year temporary license will be offered until December 1, 2020.
Applicants can find up-to-date information about OAE testing and schedule future examinations on the OAE testing website at http://www.oh.nesinc.com/.
The Office of Educator Licensure now is accepting applications for the one-year temporary license. To qualify for a one-year temporary license, an applicant must meet all qualifications for an educator license offered by the Ohio Department of Education other than passage of the required examination(s). All one-year temporary licenses will be effective for the 2020-2021 school year and are non-renewable. One-year temporary licenses are available in the following area:
- One-year temporary teaching license – Available for applicants who meet all other qualifications for a four-year resident educator teaching license or five-year professional teaching license, including applicants who have completed Ohio approved educator preparation programs or out-of-state applicants who completed approved teacher preparation programs through accredited colleges/universities.
- One-year temporary supplemental teaching license – Available to applicants who hold currently valid standard Ohio teaching certificates or licenses. This license allows the educator to teach in a supplemental area outside of his or her currently licensed area(s). Information regarding available supplemental areas can be found at http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Licensure/Supplemental-License. One-year temporary supplemental licenses are available at the request of an employing Ohio school district. Applicants are to apply for one-year supplemental licenses under the TEACHERS heading when completing the application. The applicant must pass the required subject area examination(s) to advance the one-year temporary supplemental license for the 2021-2022 school year. Teachers can hold only one supplemental teaching license at a time.
- One-year temporary teaching license in endorsement areas – Available for applicants who have completed Ohio-approved endorsement programs. The applicant must apply for a one-year temporary license in the same area as his or her current standard teaching license and add the endorsement area to the application.
- One-year alternative resident educator teaching license – Available to applicants who meet all other qualifications for a four-year alternative resident educator license, including an evaluation by the Office of Educator Licensure and completion of an Ohio Department of Higher Education approved alternative licensure institute. Please contact the Office of Educator Licensure at AlternativeLicense@education.ohio.gov for questions regarding alternative licenses.
- One-year temporary interim teaching license – Available to applicants who meet all other qualifications for a one-year interim license and have been hired by Ohio schools to teach in core subject areas while completing either the Ohio Alternative Resident Educator License pathway or a traditional teacher preparation program leading to licensure through an accredited college/university. Core subject areas are defined in section 3319.074 of the Ohio Revised Code as reading and English language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, foreign language and fine arts. The Department will not issue temporary interim licenses for intervention specialist licensure areas. Educators are not eligible for temporary interim licenses if they have previously held a teaching license (e.g., standard or alternative).
- One-year temporary administrator license – Available to applicants who have met all other qualifications for a five-year professional license in an administrative position (principal, administrative specialist or superintendent).
- One-year temporary school counselor license – Available to applicants who have met all other qualifications for a five-year pupil services license as a school counselor. This option is provided separate from, and in addition to, the previously available one-year temporary pupil services license for school counselors, which still is available to applicants who meet requirements for that license.
- One-year temporary school psychologist license – Available to applicants who have met all other qualifications for a five-year pupil services license as a school psychologist. This option is provided separate from, and in addition to, the previously available one-year temporary pupil services license for school psychologists, which still is available for applicants who are completing school psychologist internship program.
LICENSURE FLEXIBILITY FOR 2020-2021 SCHOOL YEAR
As a result of the ongoing coronavirus health crisis, and in the context of getting ready to begin the next school year, school districts and educators are being given licensure flexibility for the 2020-2021 school year only. Pursuant to H.B. 164 of the 133rd
General Assembly, a superintendent may employ or assign an educator to teach a subject area or grade level for which the person is not licensed that is within two grade levels of the person’s licensure grade band. To qualify, an educator must hold a professional or resident educator teaching license issued under section 3319.22 of the Ohio Revised Code and have at least three years of teaching experience.
This flexibility does not, however, apply to placements in special education assignments. This is a result of legal requirements in the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. 1400 et. Seq) and federal regulations (34 C.F.R. 300.156), including the requirement to provide students with disabilities with a free appropriate public education (FAPE) and the requirement for certain personnel to have specific qualifications. An educator may not be employed or assigned as an intervention specialist or teach in a special education classroom without holding the appropriate license as an intervention specialist. Please note, educators holding a valid standard Ohio teaching certificate or license may apply for a one-year supplemental intervention specialist teaching license to allow the educator to teach in a special education classroom.
The flexibility provided in H.B. 164 is available only for the 2020-2021 school year. Following the 2020-2021 school year, educators will be held to the same licensure requirements that existed prior to H.B. 164.
Last Modified: 7/21/2020 11:18:36 AM