2014 Ohio Teacher of the Year is Debra McDonald

Surprise announcement made


Akron-area resident Debra J. McDonald of Wadsworth was named 2013-2014 Ohio Teacher of the Year on Nov. 6. McDonald has taught high school students since 1994 in the Early Childhood Education and Care program at the Wayne County Schools Career Center. She also operates a fully functioning preschool at the career center where her students gain practical experiences as assistants.

“Debra enjoys the rare opportunity to move the needle for two generations of students at the same time,” State Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Richard A. Ross said. “Debra’s career-technical education students are getting high-quality, hands-on learning experiences that will allow them to enter the workforce confident and competent. The boys and girls in the preschool she oversees also are getting high-quality early learning experiences that will last a lifetime. “

About Debra McDonald

McDonald, who holds the master teacher certification, has guided several students towards national recognition for their skills and knowledge through competitions of the Family Career and Community Leaders of America. She also has served in many leadership roles with that organization on the national and state levels.

Certified as a master teacher, McDonald holds leadership roles in the Ohio Resident Educator mentoring program for beginning teachers as a state advisory group member and her district’s program coordinator. A member of the Ohio Educator Standards Board, she also has served on an advisory panel for development of the Ohio Teacher Evaluation System, and is chairing the local committee for implementing the system at the career center.

McDonald is a past president of the Wayne Association for the Education of Young Children, which selected her as director of the year in 2012. She is a member of the National Association for Career Technical Education, and the National Association for the Education of Young Children. She has a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from Marygrove College and is a summa cum laude graduate in education from the University of Akron.

About the Ohio Teacher of the Year award

The 2014 Teacher of the Year was selected from nominations submitted by schools across the state. Nominations were reviewed by a statewide panel of representatives from a range of professional organizations and school constituencies, including teachers who have been recognized for their excellent performance in the classroom.

The Ohio Department of Education initiated the Teacher of the Year program in 1969 to honor and promote excellence in teaching and the teaching profession, and to build a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in school improvement initiatives.

Last Modified: 11/7/2013 5:03:00 PM