License Renewal for Ohio Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
The license to practice speech-language pathology or audiology in Ohio for all speech-language pathologists and audiologists will expire on December 31, 2012, and must be renewed prior to that date. (Please see Ohio Revised code section 4753.09; Ohio Administrative Code rules 4753-3-10 and 4753-5-01). Renewal notices were sent to all current license holders in August of 2012.
In order to provide services in the public schools, including community schools, a speech-language pathologist and/or audiologist must also hold a current license issued by the Ohio Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology in addition to the ODE Pupil Services Licensure.
If this license is not renewed:
The local education agency (LEA) will be out of compliance with special education laws if the speech-language pathologist or audiologist provides services to children on an expired license. The Ohio Administrative Code requires that related services personnel, including speech-language pathologists and audiologists, have a current state-approved license (see OAC 3301-51-09(H)(2)) when providing services to students. The LEA could be liable for compensatory services.
In order to receive reimbursement for Medicaid, the services must be provided by service providers with a current license. In an audit, Medicaid checks licensure status of service providers, including gaps in licensure.
Penalties for late renewal are substantial. The fee for late renewal is $150 in addition to the $120 renewal fee. Furthermore, all late renewal applications will be audited for compliance with continuing education requirements.