How often do I need to complete background checks for Ohio educator licensure?
Ohio law requires that all individuals must have a baseline BCI and FBI criminal background check at the time they apply for their first Ohio educator license, certificate or permit, and those BCI and FBI background checks must be no older than one year (365 days) at the time they are used for initial licensure.
If an individual then resides continuously in Ohio, he or she does not need to update the BCI background check, but must obtain an updated FBI check once every five years.
If an individual lives outside Ohio at any time during the five years after obtaining a BCI check, then both background checks will need to be updated.
This applies to all individuals holding a state of Ohio educator license, certificate or permit, including a non-tax certificate (no expiration date), a permanent certificate (no expiration date) and an 8-year professional certificate.
It is the responsibility of educators holding ODE licenses, certificates or permits, as well as their employers, to ensure that the law is followed with regard to obtaining required updated background checks within the five year timeframe prescribed by law, even if the expiration of a background check does not always coincide with the expiration of the license.
It is anticipated that, over time, the expiration of licenses and background checks would align, but in cases where they are not aligned, it is still the educator’s responsibility to meet the five year background check requirement in law, regardless of when the educator’s license is actually due to expire. Educators should not allow required criminal background checks to become expired (beyond five years) just because their license is not yet due for renewal.
Back to Top
I had my background checks done recently for another job; can I have those results sent to you?
If the BCI results are less than one year old, you may have them sent by the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) to ODE for use in considering your licensure application. Contact BCI at 877-224-0043.
Back to Top
Can I use my background check from another state?
No, due to differences in state statutes regarding the scope of educator criminal background checks, a clear criminal background check from another state would not necessarily be an indicator that a person would pass the Ohio criminal background checks.
Back to Top