Alternative Resident Educator License - for Teaching a Designated Subject in Grades K-12


  1. A bachelor's degree from an accredited institution of higher education;
  2. 24 semester (36 quarter) hours in the subject area to be taught with a 2.5 GPA or higher (integrated science, integrated language arts, and integrated social studies require 48 semester or 72 quarter hours) consisting of coursework well distributed across the subject area, showing increasing depth and complexity and with sufficient advanced coursework in the subject area.  Six semester hours of the required 48 semester hours for integrated language arts shall be in the teaching of reading.  Extensive work experience directly related to the area to be taught may also be considered by the Ohio Credential Review Board;
  3. Successful completion of the content assessment  for the licensure area;
  4. Successful completion of the Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute
    • Transcript evaluation, coursework, background checks and testing requirements must be completed prior to registering for the Intensive Pedagogical Institute (IPTI); and
  5. Evaluation Request Application While it is not required, it is strongly recommended that an Alternative Evaluation is requested. The evaluation will outline the eligibility requirements for the initial 4 Year Alternative Resident Educator License as well as the requirements to advance to a 5 year Professional Educator License. Please note that if an evaluation is not requested and completed, the applicant will be responsible for meeting the current requirements for a license at the time the application is submitted,  even if the requirements have changed since the applicant was first issued a license.

Upon successful completion of all requirements, an Alternative Resident Educator License Statement of Eligibility will be issued and may be used to seek employment as a teacher in the schools of Ohio.

Note: In the second year of teaching under the alternative resident educator license, the educator must take OAE Assessment of Professional Knowledge; Multi-Age (PK-12) 004.

Requirements for a Professional Educator License

  • Completion of four years of successful teaching experience under the alternative resident educator license as verified by the employing superintendent;
  • Successful completion of the four year Ohio Resident Educator Program;
  • Successful completion of 12 semester (18 quarter) hours of professional education coursework, from a college or university approved to prepare teachers in the principles and practices of teaching, student development and learning, pupil assessment procedures, curriculum development, classroom management and teaching methodology;
  • Successful completion of a three semester hour course in the teaching of reading in the content area;
  • Successful completion of OAE Assessment of Professional Knowledge; Multi-Age (PK-12) 004; and
  • It is the responsibility of the license holder to maintain validity of his/her license, and to keep current on requirements to advance to a 5 year professional educator license as set forth in Ohio law.

Ohio Administrative Code

Apply Online

Using the CORE licensure system tool, educators can update their demographic data and pay licensure fees online using a credit card.

Access the CORE licensure system by signing into SAFE.

Note: If your application requires an e-signature of a superintendent, Local Professional Development Committee or college education dean, that individual must be an e-signer before you can submit your application online.

Find e-signers.


Last Modified: 10/16/2015 3:29:36 PM