Educator License Exams - Initial Licensure

As part of the process of becoming a licensed educator in particular areas in Ohio’s pre-kindergarten through grade 12 system, candidates must pass licensure exams. Depending upon the content area, the tests for initial licensure are the Ohio Assessment for Educators, the ACTFL/LTI examinations for candidates who wish to teach world languages and Praxis assessments in selected areas.

What Tests Do I Need to Take? 

Test Series for Initial Licensure

  • Ohio Assessments for Educators (OAE) measure professional, pedagogical and subject-specific knowledge and skills. Pearson's Evaluation Systems group provides these tests. 
  • ACTFL/LTI World Languages Examinations provide a system of assessing and ensuring the spoken and written language proficiency of candidates for licensure in these areas.
  • The Praxis SeriesTM is provided by Educational Testing Service and includes Praxis II, which measures professional, pedagogical and subject-specific knowledge and skills. Ohio uses Praxis tests for initial licensure in school audiology, school speech pathology and school psychology. 

Military Fee Waiver 

Learn about seeking reimbursement for Ohio Assessments for Educators here

Certain educator licenses issued after July 1, 2017 will require new reading test

Educators who will seek an early childhood (grades preK-3), middle childhood (grades 4-9), intervention specialist or early childhood intervention specialist educator license that will be issued on or after July 1, 2017, must pass the reading test titled Ohio Assessment for Educators (OAE) 090, Foundations of Reading. Read more here.


Last Modified: 10/17/2018 3:21:11 PM