
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

  
  

  
  

   
  

  
 

 
 

  
 

 
 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 
 

  

  
 

 

QUICK 
REFERENCE 

GUIDE 

Federal and Ohio
 
Minor Labor Laws
 
The term “minor” refers to individuals under eighteen (18) years of age. 

Work-Based 
Learning Policies 
and Procedures 

Several minor labor law exemptions apply to student-learners and employers 
participating in a work-based learning (WBL) experience related to a bona-
fide career-technical education program, approved by the Ohio Department 
of Education. The summer Work-Based Learning project facilitated by 
MAGNET and their education partners is a bona-fide educational program. 
Students will participate during the summer between the 11th and 12th grade 
and are likely to be 16 or 17 years old. Participating students will be enrolled 
in manufacturing related programs such as welding and machining career-
technical programs. These programs have WBL procedures, policies and 
guidelines that should be adhered to. 

Employment of 
Student-Learners 
Is Permitted 
Under Certain 
Conditions 

Following is a summary of the laws related to this program. Student-learners 
enrolled in a course of study and training in a career technical training 
program recognized by the Ohio Department of Education and the student-
learner is employed under a written, signed agreement by the employer and 
school which provides: 

n the work of the student-learner in the occupation declared particularly 
hazardous shall be incidental to the training; 

n such work shall be intermittent and for short periods of time, and under 
the direct and close supervision of a qualified and experienced person; 

n safety instruction shall be given by the school and correlated by the 
employer with on-the-job training, and 

n a schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be performed 
on the job shall have been prepared. 

Is There Any Work 
That Work-Based 
Learning Students 
Cannot Perform? 

The regulations define several hazardous occupations (HO) that are not 
permitted for minors. However, bona fide student learners in career-tech 
welding and machining programs are excluded from a number of them. 
For example, the following hazardous occupations related to manufacturing 
(HO 8) are exempt from restrictions if students are participating in bona 
fide career-technical education: power-driven metal forming, punching, and 
shearing machine operations; HO 8 also permits the use of a large group of 
common machine tools used on metal, including lathes, turning machines, 
milling machines, grinding, boring machines and planning machines. 

Can Students	 Students who are 16-17 years old in a bona fide career-technical education 
program are exempt from State of Ohio “hour limitations”. For the purposes Be Exempt from 
of this program, students can work between 150 and 300 hours. The wage State of Ohio 
subsidy provided by the program grant will not cover more than 300 hours “Hour Limitations” although companies may continue to employ students beyond that point. 

(See other Side) 



 

 

  
  
  

 

 

 

 
 

 

 
  

 

 

  

  

 

 

  
  

 

 

  
 

 

Federal and Ohio Minor Labor Laws u  Quick Reference Guide
 

Unemployment For paid work-based learning experiences, employers are not required to pay unemployment 
Compensation premiums for these students; and, student employees do not qualify for unemployment compen­

sation at the conclusion of the work-based learning experience. 

Liability 
Insurance 

Schools, businesses, agencies and individuals carry liability insurance to protect themselves 
from damages resulting from their or their employees’ acts of negligence. The legal principles 
that apply to liability are generally true of every citizen. If the student is being paid, he or she is 
considered an employee and hence is covered by workers’ compensation. Business and educa­
tion learning partnerships should obtain parental consent prior to placement at a work-site. 

Wage Employers must prepare, in duplicate, a written agreement indicating the agreed remuneration for 

Agreements every minor fourteen (14) to eighteen (18) years of age. 
1. One copy to remain on file at the establishment where the minor is employed 
2. One copy to be given to the minor for his/her retention 

List of Minors The employer shall keep a list of minors employed at each establishment, and such list must be 

Employed posted in a conspicuous place to which all minor employees have access. 

Time Records Every employer shall keep a time book or other written record showing actual starting and stop­
ping time for hours worked and each rest period. These records must be kept for two (2) years. 

Withholding Wages may NOT be withheld from minors for shortages, presumed negligence, and breakage of 
Wages machinery, incompetence, or inability to perform work according to any standard of merit. 

Prohibited 
Occupations 
for Minors 

Minors are restricted from working in occupations that are considered hazardous or detrimental 
to their health as outlined in Administrative Rule 4101:9-2,O.R.C. Exemption are allowed as noted 
above for students enrolled in career- technical programs approved by the Ohio Department of 
Education. 

Quick link reference: http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/childlabor101_text.htm#8 

Age Certificates	 Employers may protect themselves from unintentional violation of the child labor provisions by 
keeping on file an employment or age certificate for each minor employed to show that the 
minor is the minimum age for the job. Although the Wage and Hour Division no longer issues age 
certificates, certificates issued under most state laws are acceptable for purposes of the FLSA. 

The Fred A. Lennon 
Charitable Trust 

Source: Ohio Department of Education, Office of Career-Technical Education: Labor Laws and Issues, A guide for 
planning and implementing work-based learning opportunities for minors; Updated May 2009. 

Prepared by MAGNET, the Manufacturing Advocacy and Growth Network, with support from Nordson Corporation 
Foundation, Martha Holden Jennings Foundation, and the Lennon Charitable Trust. 

http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/childlabor101_text.htm#8

