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 ODE Licensing Report for 07/01/2015 - 06/30/2016 
 
 As required by ORC section 3301.57 (E) 
 “The Department of Education shall prepare an annual report on inspections conducted under this section. The report shall  
 include the number of inspections conducted, the number and types of violations found, and the steps taken to address the  
 violations. The Department shall file the report with the governor, the president and the minority leader of the senate, and  
 the speaker and minority leader of the House of Representatives on or before the first day of January of each year,  
 beginning in 1999. 
 
  
  Sites licensed during 07/01/2015 - 06/30/2016 
 Total number of sites licensed by ODE:    1,730 (preschool and/or school age childcare) 
 
 Total number of ODE licensed Preschool programs:   1,460 
 
 Total number of ODE licensed School Age Childcare (SACC) programs:   495 
 
 NOTE: Some sites may have PS & SACC therefore total sites licensed will not equal PS + SACC licenses 
 
 Enrollment 
 
 Total infants (0 – less than 18 months):  490 
 
 Total toddler children (18 months - less than 3yrs):  1,291 
 
 Total preschool children (3 yrs - 5 yrs):  66,996 
 
 
 

Total school age children (5yrs - 14 yrs):  27,149 

 
 
 
 

Details of the Preschool Programs offered 

  Preschool Program Type Number of sites 
 Head Start:  86 
 
 
 

Early Childhood Education Entitlement Grant:  346 

 
 

Tuition / Locally Funded:  879 

 
 

Preschool Special Education:  813 

 Total:  2,124 
 
 Site Inspections conducted during 07/01/2015 - 06/30/2016 
 
 Number of announced site inspections conducted:   197 
 
  Number of unannounced site inspections conducted:   1,662 

 
 New Licences issued during 7/1/2015 - 6/30/2016 

 The Ohio Department of Education issued 160 new licenses. 

 
 Before issuing a license or renewing a license. The Department determined that all non-compliant programs  
 became compliant following an action plan process (as stipulated by ORC 3301.58). 
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Preschool Compliance Information for 07/01/2015 - 06/30/2016 
 
 1145 preschool site visit reports documented full compliance (announced & unannounced visits) 
 
Most frequent PRESCHOOL 
violations 

 Number of 
violations 

Ohio Administrative Code 
3301-37-04(D) 

Each director and preschool staff member shall be examined by a licensed 
physician, physician’s assistant, advanced practice nurse, or     
practitioner within twelve months prior to the first day of employment. An employee 
medical statement shall be on file and be available for review by the department. 

123 

3301-37-08(A) The parent shall provide, prior to the date of admission or not later than thirty days 
after date of admission, and every thirteen months from the date of examination  
thereafter, a medical statement affirming that the child is in suitable condition  
for enrollment in the program. 

72 

3301-37-05(B) The program shall provide written documentation of an annual fire inspection and 
approval of the facility. Annually means within twelve months of the previous fire 
inspection. 

61 

3301-37-07(D)(7)(a)(ii) In each building in which a program is operated there shall be readily available at all 
times at least one preschool staff member who has completed a course approved 
by the state department of health on: (ii) Prevention, recognition and management 
of Communicable disease. The person trained to recognize the common signs of 
communicable disease or other illness shall observe each child daily as he enters a 
group. 

50 

3301-37-04(R) A director and preschool staff member shall provide evidence of a BCII investigation 
and FBI criminal background check as required by section 3319.391 of the Revised 
Code. Documentation that reports and five year updates are sent to the district or 
the department's office of educator licensure as required by section 3319.391 of the 
Revised Code shall be kept on file. 

46 

 
 
  
 
 School Age Child Care Compliance Information for 07/01/2015 - 06/30/2016 
 
 342 site visit reports documented full compliance (announced & unannounced visits) 
Most frequent SACC 
violations 

 Number of 
violations 

3301-32-03(H) A staff member with current valid first aid and CPR, child abuse recognition and 
prevention, management of communicable disease certification shall be on site at 
all times when children are in attendance.  A staff member with current valid first aid 
and CPR training shall be readily available during field trips. 

38 

3301-32-02(C) All staff, volunteers, and responsible individuals shall sign a non guilty/non 
conviction statement on an annual basis. 

22 

3301-32-04(C) Both the scheduled and completed dates of the annual fire inspection shall be 
documented and maintained by the program. 

20 

3301-32-02(B) School child program staff members shall not have pleaded guilty or have been 
convicted of any offense mentioned in section 3301.541 of the Revised Code and 
shall have a criminal background check completed by the appropriate state or 
federal agency. 

19 

3301-32-02(I) All staff members as well as volunteers and responsible individuals used as staff 
members shall receive orientation training which addresses program policies and 
procedures as specified in rule 3301 32 10 of the Administrative Code prior to or 
within seven calendar days of the first scheduled date of attendance on job,  
except that the discipline policy and procedures shall be reviewed as specified in 
paragraph (B and C) of rule 3301 32 09 of the Administrative Code. 

17 

 


