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Introduction
As required by Ohio Revised Code 3301.57 (E):
“The Department of Education shall prepare an annual report on inspections conducted under this section. The report 
shall include the number of inspections conducted, the number and types of violations found, and the steps taken to 
address the violations. The Department shall file the report with the governor, the president and the minority leader of 
the senate, and the speaker and minority leader of the House of Representatives on or before the first day of January 
of each year, beginning in 1999.”

Sites licensed between July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017
•	Total number of sites licensed by the Ohio Department of Education: 1,792 (preschool and/or school age childcare) 

	 – Total number of Department of Education licensed preschool programs: 1,522
		  – Total number of Department of Education licensed school age childcare programs: 455	

Note: Some sites may have both preschool and school age childcare programs, therefore, total sites licensed will not equal 
preschool + school age childcare licenses. 

ENROLLMENT

Total preschool children (birth-5 years) 65,578

Total school age children (5-14 years) 25,541

Total preschool and school age children served 91,119

DETAILS OF THE FUNDING SOURCES FOR PRESCHOOL PROGRAMS NUMBER OF SITES

Head Start 87

Early Childhood Education Entitlement Grant 347

Tuition/Locally Funded 492

Preschool Special Education 626

DETAILS OF THE FUNDING SOURCES FOR SCHOOL AGE 

Tuition/Locally Funded 69

21st Century Grant 127

SITE INSPECTIONS CONDUCTED BETWEEN 07/1/16- 06/30/2017

Number of announced site inspections conducted 145

Number of unannounced site inspections conducted 1,512

CORRECTIVE ACTION
In situations where a program was not in compliance with applicable laws and rules, the Department placed the licensee on 
a corrective action plan that outlined the violation issues and the steps that needed to be taken to address the violations. The 
action plan process began by notifying programs of any noncompliance issues that required corrective action. The corrective 
action plan submitted needed to address the following questions:

•	What short-term or immediate action has been taken to correct the area of noncompliance?
•	Please explain the planned changes to your system(s) or procedure(s) to prevent this noncompliance in the future?
•	Who will be responsible for the ongoing implementation of the planned changes to your system(s) or procedure(s) to 

continue to prevent this noncompliance?

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3301.57
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A program that was found to have a noncompliance of any kind was required  to submit its action plan for correction to the 
Department.  Licensing specialists verified  that the corrective action plan was implemented during the next unscheduled 
compliance visit.
 
PRESCHOOL COMPLIANCE INFORMATION FOR JULY 1, 2016 - JUNE 30, 2017
886 preschool site visit reports documented full compliance (announced and unannounced visits).

OHIO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE MOST FREQUENT PRESCHOOL VIOLATION CITED NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Staff
3301-37-04(D)

An employee medical statement shall be on file 
and be available for review by the Department. 
Employee medical statements should be updated 
on a regular basis according to program policy. A 
physician, a physician assistant, a clinical nurse 
specialist or a certified nurse may provide the 
medical statement.

122

Staff
3301-37-04(T)(5)

Preschool special education classroom had a ratio 
in excess of 1 teacher: 6 children with IEP.

108

Child Information  
3301-37-08(B)(2)(a)

Medical statements were not on file for all children.
66

Facility
3301-37-05(B)

The program shall provide written documentation 
of an annual fire inspection and approval of the 
facility. Annually means within 12 months of the 
previous fire inspection.

53

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(7)(b)

In each building in which a program is operated,  
at least one preschool staff member who
has completed a child abuse recognition and 
prevention course based on an approved 
curriculum.

51
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SCHOOL AGE CHILD CARE COMPLIANCE INFORMATION FOR JULY 1, 2016 - JUNE 30, 2017
240 school age childcare site visit reports documented full compliance (announced and unannounced visits).

OHIO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE MOST FREQUENT SCHOOL AGE CHILD CARE 
VIOLATION CITED

NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Discipline 3301-32-09(I) The program’s discipline policy did not include all 
of the restrictions listed in rule.

41

Staff ratios and volunteers 
3301-32-03(H)

A staff member with current valid first aid and 
CPR, child abuse recognition and prevention, 
and management of communicable disease 
certification shall be on site at all times when 
children are in attendance.

38

Staff 3301-32-02(D) Staff members of school child programs shall be 
examined by a licensed physician, physician
assistant, clinical nurse specialist or certified nurse 
not more than 12 months prior to employment and 
up to 30 days after employment.

35

Behavior Management 
Discipline 3301-37-10(C)

The behavior management policy given to parents 
did not include all of the restrictions listed in rule.

32

Facilities 3301-32-04(C) Both the scheduled and completed dates of the 
annual fire inspection shall be documented and 
maintained by the program.

29
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This report provides a summary of the details related to violations of preschool and school age childcare licensing rules as     
noted by licensing personnel conducting onsite visits during the 2016-2017 fiscal year. Violations must be corrected. The first 
step in correction is the creation and implementation of a written corrective action plan.
 

PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Compliance and Investigation
3301-37-02(I)

The most recent written compliance reports shall 
remain posted in a conspicuous place near the 
posted program license until the next compliance 
report is received from the Department. The most 
recent compliance report was not posted.

14

Compliance and Investigation
3301-37-02(I)

The most recent corrective action plan was not 
posted in a conspicuous place near the posted 
program license.

4

Compliance and Investigation
3301-37-02(O)

The following are identified as “serious risk” 
violations of a license due to the great risk of harm to 
children: (1) A child was left unattended on a school 
bus.

1

Program 
3301-37- 03(B)

A written curriculum shall be adopted which 
describes developmentally appropriate activities, 
learning environment and approaches which meet 
the individual needs of the children and is aligned to 
the early learning content standards adopted by the 
State Board of Education.

3

Program 
3301-37-03(E)

A child who attends the center for five hours or more 
on a given day shall be provided with a mat or cot
to rest. The nap/rest period shall be flexible to meet 
individual needs with provisions for early risers and 
non-nappers.

1

Program 
3301-37-03(F)

Children’s development progress shall be reviewed 
and reported to parent(s) at established intervals.
All reporting shall be conducted according to 
established procedures of the program’s governing 
board. A conference involving the teacher and parent 
shall be held at least twice each school year.

1

Program 
3301-37-03(G)

The program shall have on file and provide to 
each parent a parent handbook that will encourage 
parental participation and keep parents informed 
about the program’s operations, services and
policies. The handbook shall include information to 
advise parents how to obtain copies of inspection 
reports of the program and how to file a complaint.

11
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Staff 
3301-37-04(C)

Staff members, nonteaching employees and 
volunteers shall annually sign a non-guilty/ non- 
conviction statement on a prescribed form.

3

Staff 
3301-37-04(D)

An employee medical statement shall be on file 
and be available for review by the Department. 
Employee medical statements should be updated on 
a regular basis according to program policy.  
A physician, a physician assistant,a clinical nurse 
specialist or a certified nurse may provide the 
medical statement.

122

Staff 
3301-37-04(E)

Each preschool staff member shall be at least 18 
years of age and have a high school diploma or a 
certification of high school equivalency issued by the 
State Board of Education or a comparable agency on 
file for review.

24

Staff 
3301-37-04 (F)

Program did not have hire dates and staff position 
requirement information available for review.

5

Staff 
3301-37-04(H)(1)

The director of the preschool program did not meet 
the certificate or licensure requirements

2

Staff 
3301-37-04(I)(2)

Each class/group in a preschool program shall have 
assigned a head teacher in accordance with the rule.

3

Staff 
3301-37-04(I)(2)

The preschool special education head teacher did 
not meet the qualifications in rule.

3

Staff 
3301-37-04(J)

Extended day child care provided to preschool 
children before or after the preschool program shall 
have staff members assigned that at a minimum, are 
at least 18 years of age and have at least a
high school diploma or certification of high school 
equivalency issued by the state board of education 
or comparable agency. The extended child care staff 
member must also meet requirements related to a 
medical examination, in- service and background 
investigation as cited in this rule.

16

Staff 
3301-37-04(K)

Proof of education was not on file for all infant and 
toddler care staff.

1
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Staff 
3301-37-04(L)

Substitute teachers shall meet the following 
minimum requirements:

•	 Being at least 18 years of age;
•	 Have at least a high school diploma or 

certification of high school equivalency issued 
by the State Board of Education or comparable 
agency;

•	 Meet the requirements related to a medical 
examination, in-service and criminal background 
investigation as cited in section 3301.541 of the 
Revised Code after 15 school days.

23

Staff 
3301-37-04 (M)

Unless the preschool staff member or director 
holds an associate or higher degree in child 
development or early childhood education from an 
accredited college, university or technical college, a 
prekindergarten associate certificate or
license issued by the State Board of Education, or a 
prekindergarten teaching certificate or endorsement, 
the preschool staff member and director shall 
annually complete in-service training of 15 hours 
until a total of 45 hours has been completed.
Preschool staff members who have met the 45-hour 
in-service requirement shall thereafter complete 10 
annual clock hours of in-service.

20

Staff
3301-37-04(M)(1)

Documentation of required annual in-service 
training in one or more of the following areas: child 
development or early childhood education; child 
abuse recognition and prevention; First Aid; and/ 
or prevention, recognition, and management of 
communicable diseases, was not on file.

6

Staff 
3301-37-04(N)

Part time staff did not have required annual in- 
service training hours.

13

Staff 
3301-37-04 (O) and (P)

Preschool staff members licensed by the 
Department shall complete 10 annual clock hours 
that may be part of the professional development 
plan in accordance with Chapter 3301- 24 of the 
Administrative Code.

20
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Staff 
3301-37-04(R)

A director and preschool staff members shall 
provide evidence of a BCII investigation and FBI 
criminal background check as required by section 
3319.391 of the Revised Code. Documentation and 
five-year updates are to be sent to the district or the 
Department’s Office of Educator Licensure and shall 
be kept on file.

19

Staff 
3301-37-04(T)

The preschool staff member/child ratio, as described 
in rule, must be maintained at all times.

4

Staff 
3301-37-04(T)(1)

Sufficient preschool staff members must be 
physically present with the children at all times to 
meet staff member/child ratio requirements.

35

Staff
3301-37-04(T)(2)

Each class/group shall have at least one head 
teacher as defined in rule.

2

Staff 
3301-37-04(T)(3)

No child shall ever be left alone or unsupervised. 12

Staff 
3301-37-04(T)(5)

Preschool special education classroom had a ratio in 
excess of 1 teacher: 6 children with IEP 108

Facility 
3301-37-05(A)

The program shall be located in a safe space that 
accommodates the enrollment, supports child 
growth and development according to program 
objectives, and meets the requirements of section 
3301.55 of the Revised Code.

9

Facility 
3301-37-05(B)

The program shall provide written documentation of 
an annual fire inspection and approval of the facility. 
Annually means within 12 months of the previous 
fire inspection.

53

Facility
3301-37-05(D)

The indoor space shall include not less than thirty- 
five square feet of usable, wall-to-wall, floor space 
for each child.

3

Facility
3301-37-05(E)

Indoor play space is not available or scheduled for 
preschool use.

1

Facility
3301-37-05(E)(1)

The surface of the outdoor play space shall be well 
drained.

10
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Facility 
3301-37-05(E)(2)

The play space shall be free of hazards such as, 
but not limited to, broken glass, potholes, garbage, 
flammable materials and other debris.

2

Equipment and supplies 
3301-37-06(A)

Outdoor play space shall contain furniture, materials 
and equipment of appropriate size and type to meet 
the intellectual, physical, social and emotional needs 
of the preschool children enrolled in the program.

3

Equipment and supplies 
3301-37-06(B)(1)

Protective mats shall be placed under climbers
 10

Equipment and supplies 
3301-37-06(B)(2)

Furniture, materials and equipment shall meet 
safety and sanitation guidelines developed by the 
Department. Electrical outlets shall be covered when 
not in use.

2

Equipment and supplies 
3301-37-06(B)(5)

Cleaning and sanitizing supplies shall be stored out 
of reach of children.

8

Equipment and supplies 
3301-37-06(C)

Play materials used in the program shall be arranged 
so that children may select, remove and replace play 
materials with a minimum of assistance.

3

Equipment and supplies 
3301-37-06(D)

Adequate and sufficient first-aid supplies shall 
be readily available at all times the program is in 
operation.

1

Equipment and supplies 
3301-37-06(E)

Each cot or mat, with individual bedding, shall be 
labeled in some manner as to who is assigned to  
use the cot and shall be for the exclusive use of each 
child between sanitation procedures.

1

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)

Board-adopted preschool policies are incomplete. 2

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(B)

All preschool policies have not been board adopted. 4

Policies and Procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(1)(b)

Policies shall be appropriate for children enrolled in 
the program shall at a minimum include, but not be 
limited to preschool policies described in this rule:
(b) Include procedures for checking references of 
potential employees.

1
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(4)(a)(iii)

Posting medical and dental emergency procedures 
in each preschool room and by each telephone, and 
making such available to school personnel, children 
and parents.

8

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(4)(a)(iv)

Emergency numbers shall be posted by each 
telephone.

8

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(4)(a)(vi)

Procedures for providing written notification to 
parents when a child is injured and maintaining a 
log of injury reports was not on file.

2

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(4)(c)(i)(a)

Prior to administration of a medication, food 
supplement, modified diet or fluoride supplement, 
the program shall secure the written instructions of a 
licensed physician or licensed dentist as appropriate 
for the administration of any medication, food 
supplement, modified diet, or fluoride supplement.

5

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(4)(c)(ii)

Each time medication is administered, a written 
record or log including dosage, date and time shall 
be made. That record or log shall be kept on file for 
one year.

2

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(4)(c)(iii)

The program’s policies and procedures do not 
address requiring only health professionals or 
employees who have completed drug administration 
training to administer medication.

7

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(4)(c)(iv)

Medication shall be stored in a designated locked 
storage place, except drugs requiring refrigeration 
shall be kept in a refrigerator not accessible to 
children.

7

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(5)(b)

A roster with the name and telephone number of the 
child and of the child’s parent shall be prepared for 
each group of children in the program at least once 
annually. The roster should be furnished to each 
parent upon request.

10

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(5)(b)

Parent rosters with the appropriate information were 
not available for review.

20

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(5)(c)(i)

Secure from each parent a signed statement to be 
included in rosters.

5
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(7)

Management of Communicable Disease policy did 
not include all required information.

1

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(7)(b)

In each building in which a program is operated, at 
least one preschool staff member who has
completed a child abuse recognition and prevention 
course based on an approved curriculum.

51

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(7)(a)(i)

At least one preschool staff member who has 
completed a course in First Aid was not readily 
available at all times.

19

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(D)(7)(a)(ii)

In each building in which a program is operated, 
at least one preschool staff member who has 
completed a course in prevention, recognition and 
management of communicable diseases shall be 
readily available at all times.

45

Policies and procedures 
3301-37-07(E)

Any parent of a child enrolled in the program shall 
be permitted unlimited access to the school during 
its hours of operation to contact his child, evaluate 
the care provided by the program, the premises, or 
for other purposes approved by the director. Upon 
entering the premises, the parent shall report to the 
school office.

1

Child Information 
3301-37-08(A)

Prior to the date of admission or not later than 30 
days after date of admission of a child, the parent 
shall provide a medical statement, and every 13 
months from the date of examination thereafter.

29

Child Information 
3301-37-08(A)(4)

A physician, a physician assistant, a clinical nurse 
specialist or a certified nurse shall provide the 
medical statement.

2

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(1)

Cumulative records were missing for a recently 
enrolled child.

1

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(1)(c)

The cumulative record of each child shall include but 
not be limited to names, addresses and telephone 
numbers of two persons to contact in an emergency 
if the parent cannot be located.

1

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(1)(d)

The cumulative record of each child shall include but 
not be limited to name of the person(s) to whom the 
child can be released.

2
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(1)(e)

There was no evidence of parent authorization for 
transportation related to the program available for 
review in the students’ cumulative record.

3

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(a)

Medical statements were not on file for all children. 66

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(c)

The health record of each child shall include but not 
be limited to an immunization record as required by 
section 3313.67 of the Revised Code, which record 
shall include immunizations required by section 
3313.671 of the Revised Code.

29

Child Information 
3301-37-08 (B)(2)(d)

The health record of each child shall include but not 
be limited to a list of any allergies and treatment for 
said allergies.

3

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(e)

The health record of each child shall include but not 
be limited to a list of any medications, food
supplements, modified diets or fluoride supplements 
currently being administered to the child.

1

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(f)

The health record of each child shall include but not 
be limited to a list of any chronic physical problems 
and any history of hospitalization.

2

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(g)

The health record of each child shall include but not 
be limited to a list of any diseases the child has had.

2

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(h)

The health record of each child shall include but 
not be limited to names, addresses and telephone 
numbers of a physician and a dentist in case of 
emergency.

3

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(i)

The health record of each child shall include but not 
be limited to permission of parent for emergency 
medical and dental care as required by section 
3313.712 of the Revised Code.

2

Child Information 
3301-37-08(B)(2)(j)

The health record of each child shall include but not 
be limited to permission of parent for emergency 
transportation.

4

School Food Service 
3301-37-09(B)(3)

A choice from two of the groups listed below must 
be served for snack: (a) meat/meat-equivalent group;
(b) bread/bread- alternatives group; (c) milk group; 
or (d) fruit/vegetable group

2
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PRESCHOOL RULE CITATION 
(All rule numbers are references to 
the Ohio Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

School Food Service 
3301-37-09(D)

Current menus were not posted in a conspicuous 
place and did not reflect all meals and snacks to be 
served by the program.

9

Behavior Management 
Discipline 
3301-37-10(C)

The behavior management policy given to parents 
did not include all of the restrictions listed in rule.

32

Behavior Management 
Discipline 
3301-37-10(E)

The parent of a child enrolled in a center shall 
receive the center’s written discipline policy. 2

Behavior Management 
Discipline 
3301-37-10(F)

All preschool staff members shall receive a copy 
of the center’s discipline policy for review upon 
employment.

1

Management of Communicable 
Disease 
3301-37-11(C)

The program communicable disease policy did not 
include all of the signs and symptoms of illness that 
requires immediate isolation and discharge to a 
parent.

15

Staff 
3301-32-02(B)

School child program staff members shall not have 
pleaded guilty or have been convicted of any offense 
mentioned in section 3301.541 of the
Revised Code and shall have a criminal background 
check completed by the appropriate state or federal 
agency.

14

Staff 
3301-32-02(C)

All staff, volunteers and responsible individuals shall 
sign a non-guilty/non-conviction statement on an 
annual basis.

10

Staff 
3301-32-02(D)

Staff members of school child programs shall be 
examined by a licensed physician, physician’s 
assistant, clinical nurse specialist or certified nurse 
not more than 12 months prior to employment and 
up to 30 days after employment.

35

Staff 
3301-32-02(E)

Community partners will provide the school 
childcare administrator with documentation that 
confirms every reasonable assurance is taken to 
safeguard enrolled children in alignment with this 
rule and will provide documentation to support 
assurance upon request.

1



DECEMBER 2017			   LICENSING REPORT FOR JULY 1, 2016 - JUNE 3, 2017   11

SACC RULE CITATION 
(All rules are Ohio 
Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Staff 
3301-32-02(G)(1)

A program coordinator shall, at a minimum, meet 
the requirements of a program team leader.

2

Staff 
3301-32-02(G)(2)(a)

A program team leader shall be at least 21 years of 
age.

4

Staff 
3301-32-02(G)(2)(b)

A program team leader shall have a high school 
diploma or equivalent. 

16

Staff 
3301-32-02(G)(3)(a)

A program assistant shall be at least 18 years of age. 6

Staff 
3301-32-02(G)(3)(b)

A program assistant shall hold a high school 
diploma or equivalent.

15

Staff 
3301-32-02(G)(3)(c)

All staff members shall meet the following minimum 
requirements at the time they are employed. A 
program assistant shall have 500 hours of related 
experience.

1

Staff 
3301-32-02(I)

All staff members, as well as volunteers and 
responsible individuals used as staff members, shall 
receive orientation training that addresses program 
policies and procedures within seven calendar days 
of the first scheduled date of attendance on job.

13

Staff 
3301-32-02(J)

Each staff member designated as a team leader, 
program assistant, or responsible individual who 
is paid and scheduled to work directly with children 
shall have on file evidence of annually completing   
a minimum of 15 clock hours of in-service training 
until forty-five hours are reached. After forty-five 
hours are reached five hours of in-service must be 
completed

7

Staff 
3301-32-02(M)

Documentation of completed in-service training as 
required shall include date, place, topic, program 
coordinator’s and presenter’s signatures.

3

Staff Ratios and Volunteers 
3301-32-03(A)

Staff/child ratios shall be at least one staff member 
caring for 18 school children who are five years old, 
but less than 11 years old; or at least one staff
member caring for every 20 school children who are 
11 years old or old, but less than fifteen years old.

3
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SACC RULE CITATION  
(All rules are Ohio 
Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Staff Ratios and Volunteers 
3301-32-03(H)

A staff member with current valid first aid and CPR, 
child abuse recognition and prevention, and
management of communicable disease certification 
shall be on site at all times when children are in 
attendance.

38

Facilities 
3301-32-04(B)(1)

A program not conducted in school buildings may 
not be licensed until it has been ascertained that 
such use conforms to local codes and ordinances, 
and until the premises have passed inspection by a 
fire marshal.

2

Facilities 
3301-32-04(C)

Both the scheduled and completed dates of the 
annual fire inspection shall be documented and 
maintained by the program.

29

Facilities 
3301-32-04(K)

Space for storage of equipment and children’s 
personal belongings shall be available.

3

Facilities 
3301-32-04(M)

Telephone numbers for emergency services as may 
be locally appropriate must be posted near the 
telephone.

4

Program and Curriculum 
3301-32-05(B)

A school child curriculum shall address, but not 
necessarily be limited to, personal discipline, social 
development and emotional well-being, recreational 
skills, and health and safety skills.

19

Program and Curriculum 
3301-32-05(D)

The school child program shall have written policy 
and procedures for communication with and 
involvement of parents whose children attend the 
program. The name and telephone number of the 
Department’s ombudsman shall be posted.

1

Health and Safety 
3301-32-06(C)

Non-prescription and prescription medication 
shall be administered in accordance with program 
policies and procedures and only with written
permission of a parent. The program policy did not 
include all of the details required in rule.

6

Health and Safety 
3301-32-06(D)

First aid supplies and directions for their use shall 
be readily available at all times the program is in 
operation and taken on all field trips.

1
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SACC RULE CITATION  
(All rules are Ohio 
Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Health and Safety 
3301-32-06(E)

The program shall have an emergency plan and all 
staff shall have training and annual reviews of that 
emergency plan.

1

Health and Safety 
3301-32-06(F)

Children shall have emergency drill practice at least 
once per quarter during the school year and at least 
once during a summer program.

5

Nutrition 
3301-32-07(C)1

A program shall post the snack menu and serve a 
nutritious snack as defined in rule to each child in 
attendance.

2

Nutrition 
3301-32-07(C)(1)

Programs that provide meals or snacks shall follow 
the requirements of the school district, county board 
of developmental disabilities or eligible nonpublic 
school, and comply with the nutritional requirements 
of the United States Department of Agriculture.

2

Management of Communicable 
Disease 
3301-32-08(A)

A person trained to recognize the common signs 
of communicable disease or other illness as 
required by paragraph (L) of rule 3301-32-02 of the 
Administrative Code, shall observe each child daily 
as the child enters the group.

2

Management of Communicable 
Disease 
3301-32-08(B)(4)

A child suspected of having a communicable disease 
shall be observed carefully for worsening condition. 17

Management of Communicable 
Disease 
3301-32-08(C)

Each program shall have written policies and 
procedures for management of communicable 
disease. The policy did not include all of the 
requirements listed in rule.

10

Discipline 
3301-32-09(A)

The program shall have a written discipline policy 
describing the program’s philosophy of discipline 
and the specific methods of discipline used at the 
program. This written policy shall be on file at the 
program for review. Constructive, developmentally 
appropriate child guidance and management 
techniques are to be used at all times, and shall 
include such measures as redirection, separation 
from problem situations, talking with the child about 
the situation, and praise for appropriate behavior.

1
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SACC RULE CITATION  
(All rules are Ohio 
Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Discipline 
3301-32-09(C)

The school child program shall provide in-service/ 
training to staff regarding the written discipline 
policy and procedures before the school child 
program begins and/or before staff members begin 
working with children.

4

Discipline 
3301-32-09(I)

The program’s discipline policy did not include all of 
the restrictions listed in rule.

41

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(A)

The written program policies and procedures for 
medication administration did not include all of 
the requirements listed in section 3313.713 of the 
Revised Code.

4

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(C)

Program policies and procedures shall include the 
requirement for staff orientation, in-service and 
reference checks.

6

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(F)(1)

Individual child records shall be maintained and 
updated at least annually and include registration 
information including, but not necessarily limited 
to, the following: child’s name, date of birth, date of 
admission, parent’s name, home address, business 
address and telephone number where the parent 
can be reached during the time the child attends the 
program (if applicable) and/or procedures for
reaching the parents, and the name of the school the 
child attends.

2

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(F)(2)

Individual child records shall be maintained and 
updated at least annually and include telephone 
numbers of three authorized persons to take 
the child from the program in the event of an 
emergency.

3

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(F)(3)

Individual child records shall be maintained and 
updated at least annually and include parental 
consent for first aid, medication and transportation 
to an emergency care facility.

2

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(F)(5)

Individual child records shall be maintained and 
updated at least annually and include a signed 
parental permission slip for administration of 
medication and a log of medication administration.

2
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SACC RULE CITATION  
(All rules are Ohio 
Administrative Code)

EXPLANATION NUMBER OF VIOLATIONS

Health and Safety 
3301-32-06(D)

First aid supplies and directions for their use shall 
be readily available at all times the program is in 
operation and taken on all field trips.

1

Health and Safety 
3301-32-06(E)

The program shall have an emergency plan and all 
staff shall have training and annual reviews of that 
emergency plan.

1

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(F)(6)

The program shall notify parents when their child is 
injured and the program shall maintain a log of such 
reports.

3

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(F)(9)

Individual child records shall be maintained and 
updated at least annually and include information 
on special medical or health needs, allergies and 
dietary restrictions.

2

Policies and Procedures 
3301-32-10(I)

Each school child program shall have its license 
granted under section 3301.58 of the Revised Code 
and most recent compliance report and corrective 
action plan posted in a conspicuous place.

13
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