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Introduction 
A local, city, exempted village or joint vocational school district may request to use an online learning model through 
the creation of an online learning school. Students engaged in online learning from home more than 50 percent of 
time must be enrolled in an online learning school. Districts may use this option in accordance with state law. 
Additional requirements for school districts using online learning are outlined in Ohio Administrative Code. School 
districts engaged in online learning are required to do all of the following:  

1. Assign all students engaged in online learning to a single school which the Department will designate 
as an online learning school. 

2. Provide all students engaged in online learning a computer, at no cost, for instructional use, with a 
filtering device or filtering software that protects against internet access to materials that are obscene 
or harmful to juveniles. 

3. Provide all students engaged in online learning access to the internet, at no cost, for instructional use. 
4. Provide a comprehensive orientation for students and their parents or guardians prior to enrollment. 
5. Implement a learning management system that tracks the time students participate in online learning 

activities. Implement a system to document non-online student learning activities with all 
participation records checked and approved by the teacher of record. 

6. Provide students with an instructional calendar of at least 910 hours. 

Providing online instruction using an online learning model is a local decision, based on the needs of the school 
community. A school district may operate an online learning school in addition to operating other schools with a 
different model, including blended learning. School districts may choose to assign a name to the online school that 
references the online or digital format or use a school name that does not reference digital or online learning. Naming 
an online learning school is a local decision. Regardless of a school’s name, all online schools will be designated as an 
online learning school by the Department. Online learning schools receive the same report card as all other schools 
operated by a traditional district. Additionally, online learning schools should consider the National Standards for 
Quality Online Learning (NSQOL). 

To operate an online learning school, a school district must submit a School District Online Learning School 
Notification Form to the Department by July 1 prior to the school year in which the school will open. In the first year 
the district notifies the Department it intends to operate an online learning school, it also must request a new Internal 
Retrieval Number (IRN) through the Ohio Educational Directory System (OEDS) to formally open the new school (see 
below for more information on establishing a separate IRN).  

An IRN must be established in OEDS and must include a primary address, contact information and principal assigned 
to the online learning school. Only one IRN is necessary to provide an online learning school for all K-12 students. 
Once established in OEDS, the Department will review and approve the new IRN.  All students primarily working 
online must be assigned to the online school.  

Note: Educational Service Centers (ESCs) are not eligible to operate their own online learning schools, nor can they 
request an IRN to establish an online learning school. However, a school district may contract with an ESC to provide 
educational delivery of an online learning model that meets the requirements of the law. All district students 
participating in online services through a vendor, including an educational service center, must be assigned to the IRN 
for the district’s online school. 

This manual describes the procedures Department staff use to review funding process in accordance with OAC 3301-
35-16 that includes: 

(1) A review of all IRNs representing online learning schools; 
(2) A review of all students enrolled in online learning schools; and 
(3) Calculation of funding adjustments to reflect participation based on nine hundred ten hours and one FTE 
for the school year. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3302.42
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3301-35-16
https://www.nsqol.org/
https://education.ohio.gov/getattachment/Topics/Back-to-School/Online-Blended-Learning-Considerations-for-202-1/Online-Learning-Notification-Form.pdf.aspx?lang=en-US
https://education.ohio.gov/getattachment/Topics/Back-to-School/Online-Blended-Learning-Considerations-for-202-1/Online-Learning-Notification-Form.pdf.aspx?lang=en-US
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3301-35-16
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3301-35-16
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Timeline for Review 
• By Nov. 30: The Traditional District Online Learning School FTE Review Manual will be posted to the 

Department’s website and districts with approved online learning schools will be notified by the Department 
via email. 

• By Nov.30: The Office of Budget and School Funding will notify districts selected for an FTE review.  

• By Jan. 31: Area coordinators will meet with selected districts to discuss the FTE review process, requirements 
and learning opportunity documentation methods. 

• By June 30: Area coordinators will conduct FTE Reviews for all selected districts unless authorized by the 
Office of Budget and School Funding to conduct FTE Reviews after June 30.  

Annual FTE Reviews — Selection of Districts 
The Office of Budget and School Funding will place districts with approved online learning schools on the regularly 
scheduled FTE reviews schedule (minimally once every five years).  

Additional districts may be added to the FTE review list for the current fiscal year for these and other reasons:  
• New online learning schools (new IRN); 
• Office of Budget and School Funding recommendations; 
• Issues identified by the Auditor of State in regular financial audit or other reviews. 

Orientation Prior to the FTE Review 
Between Nov. 30 and Jan. 31, area coordinators should meet with selected district online learning school to learn 
about the school’s learning opportunity documentation methods and educational delivery system. Area coordinators 
need to know about the system and its capabilities and limitations before the actual review.  

The reviewer will ask the school to upload a written description of how time is claimed for funding to the Monitoring 
System. The description should include:  

• What is included in the student’s total learning opportunity and how the school calculates the time value to 
create that total;  

• The method the school uses to transform the online raw durational data from different vendors into the 
participation time for a student that the school is claiming for funding purposes; 

• Instruction time in non-online learning opportunities for which a student receives credit and how this 
instruction time is assessed and certified by a teacher. 

The school can use the Traditional District Online Learning School FTE Review Guiding Questions to help prepare 
a comprehensive description (see page 12). 

The area coordinator should enter the meeting in the Schedule Tab of the Monitoring System in the FTE Review 
module and title the meeting “Pre-Review Orientation.” If it is an on-site orientation visit, he or she selects On-site 
Review. If the Pre-Review Orientation is conducted virtually, he or she selects Desk Review. Notes can be entered 
describing the school’s learning opportunity documentation methods and educational delivery system.  

Information to be Provided to a District Before an FTE Review 
The following information should be emailed to the district prior to the scheduled FTE review.  

Example Email Message 

This is to confirm that I will be conducting an FTE review of your online learning school’s documented learning 
opportunities that substantiate the full-time equivalency reported for funding for the 2023-24 school year. I will arrive 
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at your school at 9 a.m. on XXXXXX. As part of the review, I will be comparing the school’s student participation data 
with the school’s data reported into EMIS. 

Please upload the written description of how the time is claimed for funding (not necessary if it was already provided 
for pre-review orientation unless changed) at least two weeks prior to the scheduled visit.  

I will send the sample of students whose records will be reviewed via encrypted email or upload into the Monitoring 
System by XXXX – insert time. The school should match SSIDs in the sample to the students’ names and provide this 
list on arrival. Documentation of participation in learning opportunities per the Traditional District Online Learning 
School FTE Review Manual must be made available for review for each identified student, regardless of their current 
enrollment status. 

I will complete the FTE Review Survey in the Monitoring System. Issues identified may need additional follow up. The 
report of the review will be emailed to school and will be available in the Monitoring System. Any finding that results 
in additional funds owed to the district or funds the district owes to the state will be documented in the Monitoring 
System. 

The reviewer or the area coordinator has the authority, in consultation with the relevant Department offices, to 
request such documentation as necessary to complete the review from any necessary personnel of the district. 
Nothing shall be construed as limiting the area coordinator or other charged personnel in obtaining such 
documentation or information as necessary to complete the review mandated under OAC 3301-35-16.  

Sample of Student Records Selected for an FTE Review 
The Department’s staff will provide the area coordinator with the file that will contain the sample of SSIDs selected for 
review and EMIS calendar for an online learning school. The sample file and additional information will be sent no 
later than three days before the scheduled review.  

Area coordinators will email the encrypted sample to the schools or upload the file in the Monitoring system 24 hours 
before the visit. The sample will be equal to the online learning school enrollment size or 50 students, whichever is 
smaller. 

FTE Review Procedures 
A reviewer must pay careful attention to the relationship between the hours and days of instruction and the daily and 
hourly participation documentation used to calculate the percent of time for each student, which will affect the 
online learning school’s FTEs and consequently funding. 

The reviewer must follow all the review procedures in the FTE Review Survey for Traditional District Online 
Learning School, incorporating these required procedures: 
1. The reviewer will check documentation that determines the first log-on in which a student has accessed a 

learning opportunity.  
2. The reviewer will check the period when the student participated in the learning opportunities to ensure that it is 

within the student’s enrollment period as reported in EMIS. 
3. The reviewer will check the individual participation records for at least 50 students in the school. If the review 

sample has fewer than 50 students, the reviewer should check the record for every student in the school. These 
participation records should show when a student accessed learning opportunities and how long the student 
participated in those learning opportunities if the online system is able to document them. If the school’s online 
system cannot document learning opportunities that take place within the system, the school must document 
them per the requirements outlined in the section titled Learning Opportunity Documentation Requirements. 
All non-online activities also must be documented in a form consistent with this manual and certified in writing by 
a licensed teacher as meeting the criteria established for completing the learning opportunity. Documentation of 
instruction time must include hourly accounting of learning opportunities in which the student participated.  

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3301-35-16
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4. The reviewer will discuss the written description provided during the pre-review orientation and confirm there 
have been no revisions or updates to the methodology. The reviewer will request that the excel file with the Total 
Learning Opportunity Records for all school students be securely emailed to Office of Budget and School 
Funding staff or uploaded to the Monitoring system within five business days, unless additional time is mutually 
agreed to by the school and an area coordinator, after completion of the on-site portion of the review.  

The Department has developed a Total Learning Opportunity Records template that can help districts with the 
calculation of the percent of time based on the required minimum of 910 hours. The template uses the data from the 
district’s FTE detail report and the hours of documented learning opportunities from the district’s tracking system. 
The template has two tabs – directions and a calculator. The built-in formulas convert the student’s EMIS reported 
percent of time to the enrollment period hours at 100%; calculate the portion of the school year, determine how many 
hours of documented learning opportunities are necessary to have for the student to be at 100% and calculate the 
percent of time based on the documented learning opportunities. That percent of time should be reported into EMIS. 
For help with reporting to EMIS, districts should work with their Information Technology Center. 

To ensure that each student is funded only for documented time spent on learning opportunities, the reviewer, with 
assistance from the Department’s Office of Budget and School Funding, will compare the total amount of verified time 
each student participated in documented learning opportunities to the percent of time being reported in EMIS for the 
student. This review will take place AFTER the FTE review visit. If the reported percent of time does not match the 
calculated percent of time, the reviewer will report these findings to the Department for follow-up. 

Learning Opportunity Documentation Requirements 
 

Traditional district online learning schools are required to document student participation in learning opportunities. 
Reviewers will check these records during the FTE review and may use the records to adjust the percent of time, which 
affects funding. Online learning schools will receive credit only for documented learning opportunities; missed days 
(both excused and unexcused absences) or assignments do not count as hours.  

Online Learning Opportunities – Tracked by the School’s System 

An online learning school may have a system that tracks learning opportunity participation within the school’s online 
system. If a school’s online system has this capability, the school should produce Excel spreadsheets showing the 
hourly accounting of learning opportunities and the final total of all online learning opportunities the student 
participated in. The school may have more than one online system that tracks durational time. In these 
circumstances, a school may not overlap times or count the same time period more than once. Non-online time may 
not overlap online time. 

The school must be able to securely email Office of Budget and School Funding staff or upload the documentation to 
the Department’s Monitoring System, on request, in Excel format and by SSID.  

Non-online Learning Opportunities 

A traditional district online learning school may offer learning opportunities that the school’s online system does not 
track or that take place offline or not on a computer. Reading resource documents, writing research papers, 
completing assignments offline, phone calls with teachers to discuss coursework, taking tests, field trips and credit-
bearing work experience are some of the examples of non-online learning activities. However, travel time to and from 
a school building, state testing and field trips cannot be included. In addition, some schools’ online systems may not 
be able to track and document a student’s participation in the online system learning opportunities. Schools that 
have these situations must use the following minimum documentation requirements and must be able to provide 
area coordinators and Department officials with the needed information on request. 

Documentation must exist for all non-online learning opportunities and must be certified by a teacher. Hours spent 
on non-online learning opportunities should not include the online hours the school already counted. Below are 
minimum requirements for Non-online Learning Opportunities. 

https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Payment-Reports/State-Funding-For-Schools/Traditional-School-Districts
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Minimum Documentation Requirements: Any documentation must include at least the following elements: 
a. Student SSID. 
b. Brief description of learning opportunities, such as class or course information. 
c. Dates and times of actual learning opportunities. 
d. Total of verified learning opportunities time. 
e. Teacher certification of the reported learning opportunities (see Teacher Certification Example). 

Schools may use the Non-online Learning Opportunities Documentation Log to document these learning 
opportunities, but it is not required. The log is simply an example of how a school can track these learning 
opportunities. It is up to the school to decide how to meet the tracking requirements. Schools should have teachers 
and students or parents report non-online time on a regular basis. 

Online learning schools cannot use estimated or approximated times to calculate percent of time. For example, if a 
school estimates an assignment should take a student 15 hours to complete and it took a student only 10 hours to 
complete, the student would receive credit for 10 hours.  

Schools can only receive funding for students documented and verified time spent engaged in learning opportunities.  

Certification of Non-online Learning Opportunities 

A teacher must document and certify all non-online learning hours. Schools may use different means to certify 
documented learning opportunities, but it must apply the process consistently and adhere to the requirements of this 
manual. If a school’s online system does not track the amount of time students participate in online learning 
opportunities, schools may document these learning opportunities using the Minimum Documentation 
Requirements for Non-online Learning Opportunities. That required documentation is separate from the original 
source documents and may be compiled by either the student or school staff, but its accuracy must be certified on a 
regular basis by a teacher who is licensed by the State Board of Education and therefore is subject to the Licensure 
Code of Professional Conduct for Ohio Educators.    

Teacher Certification Example 

I hereby certify, pursuant to my obligations under ORC 1702.54 and 31 U.S.C. § 3729, that I have no actual or 
constructive knowledge of   (name of student)   misreporting hours spent in non-online learning opportunities. To the 
best of my knowledge, (name of student)    spent   (number of hours)   hours during   (month/year)   
toward the completion of the plan agreed to on his/her behalf and   (school name)   on (date of last signature on plan).  

      ___________________________________ 
      Name of teacher 

      ___________________________________ 

      Ohio Educator License Number(s) 

      ___________________________________ 

      Date 

 

Calculation of Percent of Time Based on Documented Learning Opportunities 
A school must track and document the number of hours a student participates in learning opportunities, as required 
in this manual. The school will be considered to have provided one hour of learning opportunity for each hour of 
student work documented. The school will receive credit for providing partial hours of learning opportunities for each 
partial hour of student work documented, per this manual. Non-online learning opportunities are credited only for 
actual documented hours. Excused and unexcused days of absence or assignments do not count as hours in 
online learning schools. 

https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Payment-Reports/State-Funding-For-Schools/Traditional-School-Districts
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Educator-Conduct/Licensure-Code-of-Professional-Conduct-for-Ohio-Ed
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Educator-Conduct/Licensure-Code-of-Professional-Conduct-for-Ohio-Ed
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-1702.54
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/31/3729
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A student may combine hours from different learning modes. For example, a student with 450 documented hours of 
non-online time and 460 hours of online time will have 910 total hours.  

The school will report, for funding purposes, each student’s percent of time based on hours of documented learning 
opportunities as a percentage of 910 hours or a portion of the school year based on a specific student’s enrollment 
period (see more information in FTE: Full-Time Equivalency). 

Area coordinators should make sure the reported percent of time matches the documentation the school provides for 
learning opportunities. A school must be ready to provide online and non-online learning opportunity participation 
records for each student. 

If an area coordinator detects significant discrepancies or issues, the Department recommends he or she widen the 
sample of student records to review. All area coordinators should use their judgement and experience in making 
these determinations. The intent is to detect issues and resolve calculation and documentation issues regarding 
percent of time as early as possible. 

Area coordinators should check for student records with the same configuration of non-online learning activities. 
Non-online learning opportunities naturally will vary among individual students. If a reviewer detects a pattern in 
which a significant number of students have the same, or a very similar, combination of online and non-online 
learning opportunities, he or she should investigate further and report these findings to the Department. 

Regular and Year-End Percent of Time Adjustments 
All districts must adjust the percent of time in EMIS for their students who are part time or participating in courses at 
joint vocational school districts or taking College Credit Plus courses.  Additionally, all traditional district online 
learning schools must adjust the percent of time in EMIS for their students based on the documented learning 
opportunities. The Department recommends updating the percent of time in EMIS quarterly.  

Here are suggested “best practices” to help a district to comply with the rules: 
• Have a clear methodology for how all raw durational data is used to arrive at the total hours claimed for 

funding. 
• Maintain hourly logs of online and non-online learning opportunities. 
• Ensure that if there is an overlap in durational time, the school counts each time only once between: 

o Different online systems; and 
o Online time and non-online time. 

• Use Department template for the percent of time calculations. 
• Conduct a timely adjustment to the percent of time in EMIS for withdrawn students. 
• Estimate the percent of time for students based on the available records and enter it in EMIS quarterly. 
• Complete the final calculation of the student’s percent of time based on participation at the conclusion of the 

school year once all of the documented learning opportunities have been tracked and report it in EMIS. 

FTE Review Survey, Issues, Action Plans and Reports in the Monitoring System 
An area coordinator may discuss preliminary results of the FTE review with the district before the conclusion of the 
visit, but the area coordinators should communicate that any discussion will not be considered final results of the 
review as the Department must review and evaluate the information received during the visit.  

The reviewer will complete the survey, identify any issues, and outline the follow-up action needed to resolve issues in 
the Monitoring System. The area coordinator will email the report to the school. In addition, the school can generate a 
PDF report within the Monitoring System. If there are issues that require follow up, the school will need to enter the 
action plan into the Monitoring System and show proof to the area coordinator that it has resolved the issue. The area 
coordinator will review the documentation and enter comments in the Monitoring System indicating that issues were 

https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Payment-Reports/State-Funding-For-Schools/Traditional-School-Districts
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resolved. Once all the issues are resolved, the Department representative will mark the Action Plan implemented and 
Issue closed, and the school can generate a PDF report in the Monitoring System for its records. 

Topics Related to FTE Reviews 

Attendance  

Attendance is participation in learning opportunities provided by an online learning school as defined in the board 
adopted attendance policy. This would include documentation of learning opportunity participation by a student 
enrolled in an online learning school.  
The school must provide documentation that clearly shows the pupil has started participating in learning 
opportunities, either through attendance records or evidence that a student in an online learning school has logged in 
to the system and accessed these learning opportunities. 
Habitual truancy, excessive absences, chronic absenteeism 

It is important for Ohio’s students to be in class every day, ready to learn. Ohio defines chronic absenteeism as 
missing 10 percent or more of the school year for any reason. A child who is not in school is missing out on his or 
her education. All public schools in Ohio must implement the requirements in state law to reduce chronic 
absenteeism. They must track each student’s attendance at least hourly, regardless of the student's calendar. For 
students under age 18, schools also must comply with “triggers” for finding students excessively absent and 
truant.  See more information about Ohio’s Attendance laws. 

How does non-attendance (excused or unexcused) affect school funding?  

Traditional district brick and mortar schools and blended schools receive funding regardless of student attendance 
(including excused and unexcused absences). Online learning schools receive funding based on documented learning 
opportunities. 

FTE: Full-Time Equivalency  

Full-time equivalency is the portion of the school year a student was educated. It is determined by the number of 
hours of instruction provided to a student during a school year, divided by the total number of hours of instruction. 
These are listed in the annual school calendar in EMIS.  

A student’s enrollment date, withdrawal date, the calendar he or she is assigned to, and the percent of time are the 
data points used to calculate a student’s FTE. For a student new to a school, the first documented date of attendance 
starts the clock for calculating FTE. Details on how FTE is calculated in EMIS are available in the EMIS Level 2 Report 
Explanation: FTE Detail Report.  

In a brick-and-mortar school one FTE is equal to the total hours in the calendar. If the calendar totals 1,200 hours; 
1,200 hours is the standard for 1.0 FTE for that school. Every school has a different calendar with different start and 
end dates, different days off for holidays and breaks, and different numbers of scheduled hours per day. Find the 
denominator on the school’s FTE detail report in the column labeled “Total for this Cal” and the numerator in the 
column labeled “Total Enroll for this rec.” 

A student who enters at the beginning of a school year and receives instruction for the online learning school’s total 
annual membership units will generate an FTE of 1.0. Students who do not remain for the entire school year or who 
enter after the start of a school year will have FTEs that reflect the total number of hours of instruction received 
during the time they were enrolled. No student will be funded for an FTE greater than 1.0. All traditional district online 
schools must offer a minimum of 910 hours of learning opportunities each school year. The Department has 
developed a Total Learning Opportunity Records template that can help districts with the calculation of the percent 
of time based on the required minimum of 910 hours even if the school calendar has a higher number of hours.  

https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Student-Supports/Attendance-Support
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Data/EMIS/EMIS-Documentation/FY16-EMIS-Validation-and-Report-Explanation-Docume
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Data/EMIS/EMIS-Documentation/FY16-EMIS-Validation-and-Report-Explanation-Docume
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Payment-Reports/State-Funding-For-Schools/Traditional-School-Districts
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The student can generate 1.0 FTE only if the student has been enrolled for an entire school year and participated in at 
least 910 hours of documented learning opportunities. The provision in ORC 3317.034(E) regarding a 9-12 grade 
students being considered full-time if the students are enrolled in at least five units of instruction does not apply to 
students enrolled in the online learning schools. 

All districts must adjust percent of time for students who are attending part time, participating in courses at a joint 
vocational school district or taking College Credit Plus courses. Additionally, online learning schools must adjust 
percent of time based on the total documented learning opportunities. 

Instructional Hours/Learning Opportunities  

Instructional hours in an online learning school are defined by learning opportunities provided to or engaged in by a 
student.  

Learning opportunities may include: 
1. Online and non-online activities. 
2. These activities have to be either directly provided by a teacher or supervised by a teacher; the school should 

be able to identify the teacher. 
3. These activities must be educational, instructional and goal-oriented; there should be some school policy or 

guidance that in advance describes the goal, mainly of non-online activities. Reporting activities after the fact, 
without prior goals, prior specification of activities and/or teacher direction, is not sufficient. 

Schools cannot count durational time before the start of the school calendar or after the end of the school calendar. 
Normally, the Department does not fund summer school. If some students start before the approved start of the 
school year, the school can choose to set up students on a different calendar with an earlier start date. The exception 
to this is College Credit Plus.  

Students with disabilities may be assigned an intervention specialist to provide additional instruction and support. 
Schools can count this as a non-online learning opportunity certified by a teacher. If special education students in an 
online learning school receive services provided by third-party providers, bills and invoices can be used as source 
documentation to track time. Schools must use the detailed invoices that show students names, the dates and 
duration of the services. 

Taking part in a credit flexibility activity may count in the instructional hours of a student if the student asks to use 
credit flexibility and the other procedures associated with credit flexibility are in place, such as goal setting, 
specification and completion of activities, and review by a licensed teacher.  

Students can earn time on evenings, weekends, and holidays. Nothing prohibits a student from working more than 
the scheduled day, however, a student cannot generate an FTE for more hours than 910 hours. 

College Credit Plus (CCP) courses 

The rationale for the hours calculation assumes one semester equals half of a school year. Full time for a college 
student is typically 12 hours a semester, so two semesters can equal 24 hours. Therefore, to calculate one semester 
hour, the computation is calendar hours divided by 24. If you have a 910-hour calendar, one semester hour would 
equal 37.9 hours. If a college is on quarters, you would use 36 as the divisor, and for a 910-hour calendar, one quarter 
hour would equal 25.3 hours. An example of a student taking six semester CCP credit hours would amount to 227.5 
documented hours or 25 percent of time attributed to CCP. 

College Credit Plus is to be entered in the EMIS FS record with a PS in SENT REASON 1 and SENT REASON 2 (if 
attending more than one college) and the percent of time the student is enrolled in that program. For the courses 
taken over the summer term, the school should add those credit hours into the calculation of the total CCP percent of 
time for the academic year and then report that percent of time in EMIS. The school does not need to make changes 
to their EMIS calendar.  

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3317.034
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An online learning school may not count homework or any other work students participate in associated with College 
Credit Plus classes in the total learning opportunities they provide and account for in the remaining portion (not 
College Credit Plus) of the student’s FTE.  

Work Study Hours and Funding  

Online learning school students in work-based learning experiences may be eligible for school credit. This work 
experience and transcripted credit also may count toward that student’s instructional hours. 

To award credit for work-based learning by utilizing credit flexibility, each student, the student’s family, the school 
and business partner create the work-based learning agreement and credit flexibility plan together. Work-based 
learning experiences are designed to provide authentic learning experiences for students that link academic, 
technical and professional skills. Business and education partners work together to evaluate and supervise the 
experiences, which must be documented with learning agreements and evaluation forms. Local schools may have 
additional guidelines for these work-based learning experiences concerning eligibility, required competencies or 
credit granted. The credit flexibility plan, based on the local school’s requirements, typically includes an application 
for credit and outlines information on the course, how much credit the student is seeking and how the student will 
demonstrate competency in subject areas, which should directly align with the work-based learning agreement.  

The Department’s website has more information on work based learning. On this webpage, districts can also find a 
work based learning agreement that may be customized based on local policies to showcase student learning to be 
eligible for credit according to the district’s policy on credit flexibility. 

Online learning schools may count up to 120 hours per transcripted credit of student work experience toward their 
minimum of 910 required instructional hours. For example, a work-based learning experience at an animal hospital 
can be designed to align to science course standards. A credit flexibility plan can outline the credit to be issued to the 
student on demonstration of competency of those standards. 

Scenario A: A student works 90 hours at an animal hospital and demonstrates competency of the science standards, 
as written in the work-based learning agreement and credit flexibility plan, resulting in one credit of science. The 
online learning school counts the 90 hours the student worked as part of the student’s 910 instructional hours. 

Scenario B: A student works 150 hours at an animal hospital and demonstrates competency of the science standards, 
as written in the work-based learning agreement and credit flexibility plan, resulting in one credit of science. The 
school only counts 120 hours the student worked as part of the student’s 910 instructional hours. 

See information about:  

Work-Based Learning  

Apprenticeships   

Credit Flexibility  

Career-Based Intervention (CBI)  

To count employment hours toward meeting the 910-hours requirement, the school must have a policy that outlines 
how the school implements work-based learning. Each student participating in the program should have an 
individual student plan and documentation of work-based experience (pay stub, journaled hours).  
  

https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Career-Tech/Work-Based-Learning
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Career-Tech/Work-Based-Learning
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Career-Tech/Apprenticeships-and-Pre-Apprenticeships
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Ohio-Education-Options/Credit-Flexibility-Plan
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Career-Tech/Career-based-Intervention-CBI
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Traditional District Online Learning School FTE Review Guiding Questions 
It is up to each district to determine how best to track documented learning opportunities. As a district determines 
the methods to document student participation, consider the questions below. 

How does the school define the following: 

• Participation; 
• Attendance; 
• Online time; 
• Non-online learning opportunity. 

What types of systems and/or vendors does the school use for durational time for the following: 

• Online; 
• Non-online learning opportunities. 

Online time: 

• How does the school define time spent online? 
• How does a vendor present durational data to the school? 
• Are there login and logout times for each durational increment? 
• Does a vendor show durational data in aggregate for the entire year?   
• What time zone does the vendor use in reports? If not in Eastern Standard Time zone, does the school convert 

the start and end times to EST? 
• How does the school define activity? Does the school count Time on Activity (some vendors provide total time 

logged in and then Time on Activity)? What causes the activity timer to continue running? 
• Does the school have “forced” log out times? In other words, how does the school or vendor handle a student 

who does not show any activity? How long does the school allow - 15 minutes? - Thirty minutes? How did the 
school determine the forced log out time? Is the forced log out time included in the durational interval? 

Non-online time: 

• What does the non-online learning opportunity documentation look like (start and end of activity, description 
of activity, hours and minutes spent on the activity)? 

• How does the school monitor attendance by each student for the duration of the activity? 
• Who reports these hours (students, parents, teachers)? 
• Are these hours certified by a teacher? How often? 
• Do teachers question the hours reported by students if they appear to be too many or too few? Do teachers 

review the activities indicated by students?  
• What process does the school use to determine which activities count toward funding? 
• Does the school count student employment hours toward funding? How is that documented? Are the 

employment hours in line with approved work-based learning programs (career-based intervention or 
apprenticeship programs)? Does the student have an Individual Academic and Career Plan? 

Combining online and non-online time: 

• What is the process the school uses to combine different types of hours? 
• How does the school ensure that it does not count duplicated time? 

o Two online systems; 
o Online and non-online time. 

• Are there families in which two or more siblings share a computer? How does the school track online time for 
them?  
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FTE Review Survey – Traditional District Online Learning School 
 

1. Review the school calendar reported to EMIS. Does the calendar have the minimum required number of 
hours? 
Yes   No 

 
2. Do the participation records support the Start Dates and End Dates listed in the FTE Detail Report? 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
3. Is there an hourly accounting of online learning opportunities for the student? 

Yes   No 
 
4. Is there an hourly accounting of non-online learning opportunities for the student? 

Yes   No 
 

5. If yes to question 3 and/or 4, do they meet the documentation requirements outlined in the Traditional District 
Online Learning School FTE Review Manual including the certification requirements? 

Yes   No 
 

6. Request the school upload the Total Learning Opportunity Records (TLOR) for ALL students within five 
business days of the completion of FTE Review. Did the school provide the TLOR? 

Yes   No 
 
7. By SSID, compare the calculated percent of time from TLOR to the percent of time reported on the most 

recent FTE Detail Report. Do the percents of time match? 
Yes   No 

 
8. Did the school upload a description of how it totals the durational time for funding purposes?  

Yes   No 
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Frequently Asked Questions  
 
Will there be state report cards for online learning schools? 
Yes. An online learning school will receive the same report card as all other schools operated by a traditional district. 
 
Can a classroom, building or entire district temporarily switch to online learning due to professional 
development, parent-teacher conferences, weather-related issues or some other “calamity”?  
Districts should consider whether they need to build-in additional hours in their instructional calendars for hazardous 
weather, emergencies, professional development and parent-teacher conferences. As long as the minimum school 
year is met (910 hours), no time must be made up.    
 
Can a district offer its online learning school to students from other districts?  
The answer to this question depends on the district’s adopted open enrollment policy. Districts are encouraged to 
review their board-adopted open enrollment policy and to follow that policy regarding student enrollment in an 
online learning school.  
 
If the district has an online learning school, is the district required to enroll a student in the online learning 
school at the request of a parent?  
Districts should adopt a policy that clarifies which students may enroll in an online school. If the district’s policy 
indicates any student may enroll, then yes, a parent could request their child be enrolled in the online school. Districts 
are encouraged to work with the appropriate district staff, as well as the parent and student, to develop policies that 
address nondiscriminatory placement into educational programming, including the district online learning school.   
 
Do districts need to provide devices and filtering for students assigned to the online learning school? 
Yes. The district is required to provide a computer/device for students who are participating in the online learning 
school. Typically, filtering can be provided through the Information Technology Center (ITC) to which the district is 
aligned. If the school is not aligned with an ITC, then the district is required to provide filtering for student devices. 
 
Does providing a hot spot meet the requirement to provide internet service? 
Yes, if the hot spot provides access to the internet, learning management system and course content from the home 
location. Before issuing a hot spot, it is recommended that the district work with the service provider to determine 
that the quality of the service will provide the necessary access for students and families.  
 
Who can be assigned to teach students enrolled in an online learning school? 
Each student must be assigned to a teacher of record. The teacher of record is required to track all online and non-
online activities. If students are enrolled in courses where the Course Delivery Method is reported as “Computer as 
Instructor”, any properly certified/licensed teacher can be assigned as teacher of record. If the course is delivered 
through some other method, a teacher of record must be properly certified/licensed in the course/courses they are 
assigned to teach. 
 
Could the online learning school be a year-round model and still meet the 910 minimum instructional hours 
requirement? 
A school year is defined as July 1 – June 30. As long as minimum hour requirements are met, there is nothing to 
preclude year-round online schooling.  
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Will funding be reduced if students do not meet the time requirement of 910 hours? 
Yes. Students can generate full funding if they engage in at least 910 hours of instruction. This is a combination of 
logged online learning activities and appropriately approved time related to non-online learning activities. For 
students who engage in less than the minimum hours of instruction, the district will be required to reduce the 
student’s percent of time element in EMIS. This will have the impact of reducing the student’s calculated full time-
equivalency (FTE) and the amount of funding the student generates for the district. The district should be prepared to 
provide evidence that supports the claimed engagement for each student. 
 
Does the 910 minimum hours requirement apply only to high school students? 
The 910-hour requirement applies to all students (K-12) enrolled in an online learning school. Schools that implement 
a blended learning model also must provide at least 910 hours of instruction per Ohio Revised Code 3302.41. Schools 
that do not implement a blended learning model or online model must provide the minimum number of instructional 
hours required by Ohio Revised Code 3313.48. Community schools are still required to provide 920 hours of 
instruction, regardless of the type of educational model they use. 
 
Are students required to complete 910 hours during traditional school day hours? 
No. Districts can determine locally when students can complete hours. 
 
Can the district use its current student information system to track time and attendance? 
Yes. Districts may use their current student information system, if that system is able to track attendance, 
participation, online learning activities (usually tracked based on specific interaction with the computer in use) and 
non-online learning activities that must be certified by a teacher. Schools should be prepared to show the daily, 
weekly and monthly accounting of learning opportunities a student participated in. Online community schools (e-
schools) are subject to similar reporting and documentation requirements. 
 
If a student accrues several hours of absence, can he or she make up that time later in the week, month or year, 
and if so, can the absence be negated? 
Districts can establish flexible schedules and students can make up an absence for the purpose of EMIS reporting and 
funding, but not for the purpose of negating the absence thresholds set in Ohio’s Attendance Law. For example, a 
district policy may provide that if a student misses a day and accrues five hours of absence, a student can make up the 
missed time. In that scenario, a district could choose to report no absence hours in EMIS for that day. Moreover, the 
made-up hours will count towards the 910 hours needed to generate full funding. However, the five hours of absence 
do count for the purpose of calculating whether any of the habitual truancy or excessive absence thresholds are met, 
even though the hours were made up for other purposes. 
 
If a student transfers into an online learning school, is athletic eligibility impacted?  
The Ohio High School Athletic Association governs interscholastic athletic opportunities. District personnel should 
consult with the Association regarding athletic eligibility for students who transfer to an online learning school.  
 
From which school do students graduate, their home school or the online learning school?  
If a student attends a district online school that is their home school. A student enrolled in a district who is primarily 
working online must be enrolled in the online school. Students graduate from the school they attended. A transcript 
will be generated that recognizes the name and IRN of the last school attended.  
 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3302.41
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3313.48
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