2022-2023 Mathematics Modeling and Reasoning Pilot Participants

Background

The Ohio Department of Education partnered with the Ohio Department of Higher Education and the Ohio Math Initiative (OMI) to create a math transition course to prepare Ohio high school seniors who have not earned a remediation-free score for a college entry-level mathematics course. (Entry-level mathematics courses may include Quantitative Reasoning, Statistics and Probability, or College Algebra pathway courses.) This course is titled Mathematical Modeling and Reasoning, and the curriculum was created by Ohio postsecondary and secondary math faculty.

This course has since been modified from a fourth-year transition course to an Algebra 2 equivalent course and will satisfy the credit requirement for Algebra 2. Students who succeed in this course may take an Algebra 2 course, College Credit Plus course or AP math course in their fourth year.

The following districts and postsecondary institutions are participating in the pilot during the 2022-2023 school year:

A-G			
Alexander Local	Canton City	Elgin Local	
Anthony Wayne Local	C-TEC of Licking County	Fairbanks Local	
Barberton City	Centerville City	Fairfield City	
Beavercreek City	Chagrin Falls Exempted Village	Fairless Local	
Bedford City Schools	Chippewa Local	Fairport Harbor Exempted Village	
Benjamin Logan Local	Cincinnati Public Schools	Field Local Schools	
Benton-Carroll-Salem Local	Cleveland Municipal	Franklin Local	
Berea City	Columbus Academy	Fremont City	
Berkshire Local	Columbus City School District	Gahanna-Jefferson City	
Bishop Ready	Columbus Preparatory Academy	Gallia County Local	
Bowling Green City School District	Coshocton City	Gallipolis City	
Brecksville Broadview Heights City	Covington Exempted Village	Goshen Local	
Bridgeport Exempted Village	Crooksville Exempted Village	Green Local	
Brooklyn City	Cuyahoga Falls City	Greene County Career Center	
Bryan City	Cuyahoga Heights Local	Greenon Local	
Buckeye Local	Edison Local	Greenville City	

K-12 School Districts H-R

Hardin-Houston Local Massillon City North Union Local School District

Hillsdale Local Maumee City Northeastern Local

Huber Heights City Mayfield City Northridge Local

Indian Creek Local Maysville Local Northwest Local

Indian Lake Local Medina City SD Oak Hills Local

Jackson-Milton Local Miami Valley CTC Ohio Connections Academy

James A Garfield Local Middletown City Olmsted Falls City

Jefferson Local Mid-East CTC Orange City

Kalida Local Milford Exempted Village Ottawa-Glandorf Local

Kenston Local Mississinawa Valley Local Painesville City Local

Kent City Mohawk Local Schools Perry Local

Kettering City School District Morgan Local Perrysburg Exempted Village

Kings Local Mt. Healthy City Pike County CTC

Lake Center Christian School New Knoxville Local Piqua City

Lakewood Local New Richmond Exempted Ravenna City

Village

Lakota Local Newark City Schools Reynoldsburg City

Lebanon City Niles City Ridgemont Local

Leipsic Local Noble Local Ridgewood Local Schools

Logan-Hocking Local Nordonia Hills City Riverside Local (Lake)

Maple Heights City North Canton City Riverside Local (Logan)

Marion City North Central Local Ross Local

Marysville Exempted Village North College Hill City

K-12 School Districts S-Y

Shaker Heights City Tecumseh Local Wadsworth City

South Euclid-Lyndhurst City The Wellington School Wellston City

South Range Local Three Rivers Local West Branch Local

Southeast Local Tipp City Exempted Village West Clermont Local

Springfield City School District Toledo City Westerville City

St Ignatius High School

Tolles Career & Technical
Center

Willard City

St Vincent St Mary
High School
Tree of LifeNorthridge Branch
Willoughby-Eastlake City

St Clairsville-Richland City Troy City Yellow Springs Exempted Village

Stow-Munroe Falls City
School District
Upper Valley Career Center

Strongsville City Schools Valley View Local

Switzerland of Ohio Local Villa Angela-St. Joseph

High School

Symmes Valley Local



Educational Service Centers		
Satellite	Training Location	Regional Facilitator (RF) Name
Northwest	Putnam County ESC	Mary Teglovic, North Central Ohio ESC
Northeast A	Summit County ESC	Stephen Miller
Northeast B	ESC of Northeast Ohio	James "Ike" Holtzapfel
West A	Madison-Champaign ESC	Melissa Scoville
West B	Clark County ESC	Teri Armstrong
Central	ESC Central Ohio	Matthew Fannon
East	East Central Ohio ESC	Molly Kaplet
Southwest	Butler County ESC	Michelle Walker-Glenn
Southeast	Gallia Vinton ESC	Robin Phillips