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3301-35-08 Non-chartered, non-tax supported school

Actual

Summary

A school, which is not chartered or seeking a charter from the state
board of education because of truly held religious beliefs, shall
annually certify in a report to the parents of its pupils that the school
meets Ohio minimum standards for non-chartered, non-tax supported
schools cited in paragraphs (A) to (G) of this rule. A copy of said report
shall be filed with the Ohio department of education on or before the
thirtieth of September of each year.

The school has truly religious ties. The school provides an annual
notice to parents that it meets the Ohio minimum standards as a non-
chartered, non-tax supported school and relates items in sections (A)
to (G) of this rule. This notice must be filed with ODE on or before
September 30 each year.

(A) School year. The school shall be open for instruction with pupils in
attendance for not less than four hundred fifty-five hours in the case of
pupils in kindergarten unless such pupils are provided all-day
kindergarten, in which case the pupils shall be in attendance for nine
hundred ten hours; nine hundred ten hours in the case of pupils in
grades one through six; and one thousand one hours in the case of
pupils in grades seven through twelve in each school year according to
section 3313.48 of the Revised Code.

The school year is calculated in hours of instruction. Half-day
Kindergarten is 455 hours. Full-day Kindergarten is 910 hours. Grades 1
to 6 are 910 hours. Grades 7 to 12 are 1001 hours.

(B) Pupil attendance. Pupil attendance shall be reported to facilitate
administration of laws relating to compulsory education and the
employment of minors. Parents shall be responsible for reporting their
child's school enrollment or withdrawal. An individual in charge of the
non-chartered, non-tax supported school may, as a matter of
convenience, provide the report for the parent.

The non-chartered, non-tax school serves as a school option for
parents to meet the required school attendances laws. Parents
provide the name of the non-chartered, non-tax school to their local
school district’s treasurer where their child is enrolled. They must also
inform when their child has withdrawn from these schools. Some
schools may provide an enrollment report of all their students to local
school treasurer on the parents’ behalf.

(C) Teacher and administrator qualifications. Teachers and
administrators shall have received a bachelor's degree or the
equivalent thereof from a recognized college or university.

Teachers and administrators must have a four year post-secondary
degree from a recognized college or university.

(D) Courses of study. Each non-chartered, non-tax supported school
shall have courses of study for the following subjects:

Each school must have courses of study for students in each content
area along with other courses that may be adopted by the school, each
year.

(E) Pupil promotion. Each non-chartered, non-tax supported school
shall follow regular procedures for promotion from grade to grade of
pupils who have met the school's educational requirements.

Schools must have a formalized grade promotion system that reflects
the school’s learning requirements.

(F) Pupil health and safety. Each non-chartered, non-tax supported

Schools must complete the safety and health requirements set by state
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school shall comply with state and local health, fire, and safety laws.

and local health, fire and safety agencies.

(G) Pupils attending a non-chartered, non-tax supported school are not
entitled to pupil transportation, and pupils attending a non-chartered,

non-tax supported school are not entitled to auxiliary services. A non-

chartered, non-tax supported school is not entitled to nonpublic

administrative cost reimbursement.

Tax support services are not available for non-chartered, non-tax
supported school students which include bus transportation and state
funded auxiliary service materials or supports.

3301-35-08 Non-chartered, non-tax supported school

Items

Summary

Samples

A school, which is not chartered or seeking a
charter from the state board of education
because of truly held religious beliefs, shall
annually certify in a report to the parents of its
pupils that the school meets Ohio minimum
standards for non-chartered, non-tax
supported schools cited in paragraphs (A) to
(G) of this rule. A copy of said report shall be
filed with the Ohio department of education
on or before the thirtieth of September of
each year.

The school has truly religious ties. The school
provides an annual notice to parents that it
meets the Ohio minimum standards as a non-
chartered, non-tax supported school and relates
items in sections (A) to (G). This notice must be
filed with ODE on or before September 30 each
year.

Samples or forms can be provided
through the Ohio Department of
Education, the Office of School Options.
The certified report must be sent by
mail, emailed or faxed on or before
September 30, each year.

3301-35-08 (A)

(A) School year. The school shall be open for
instruction with pupils in attendance for not
less than four hundred fifty-five hours in the
case of pupils in kindergarten unless such
pupils are provided all-day kindergarten, in
which case the pupils shall be in attendance
for nine hundred ten hours; nine hundred ten
hours in the case of pupils in grades one
through six; and one thousand one hours in
the case of pupils in grades seven through
twelve in each school year according to section
3313.48 of the Revised Code.

The school year is calculated in hours of
instruction.

Half-day Kindergarten is 455 hours.
Full-day Kindergarten is 910 hours.
Grades 1 to 6 are 910 hours.

Grades 7 to 12 are 1001 hours.

School calendar and daily schedule
provides documentation to the families
for instructional hours of operation.
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3301-35-08 (B)

(B) Pupil attendance. Pupil attendance shall be
reported to facilitate administration of laws
relating to compulsory education and the
employment of minors. Parents shall be
responsible for reporting their child's school
enrollment or withdrawal. An individual in
charge of the non-chartered, non-tax
supported school may, as a matter of
convenience, provide the report for the
parent.

The non-chartered, non-tax school serves as a
school option for parents to meet the required
school attendances laws. Parents provide their
child’s enrollment to these schools to their local
school district’s treasurer. They must also inform
when their child has withdrawn from these
schools. Withdrawal notices must within the first
week of the month after withdrawals. Some
schools may provide an enrollment report of all
their students to local school treasurer on the
parents’ behalf.

Local school treasurer must be informed
of enrollment within the first 10 days of
the local school district’s school calendar
year. Withdrawal notice must be sent
the next month to the local school
treasurer.

(1) The attendance report shall include the
name, age, and place of residence of each
pupil below eighteen years of age.

Parent notice of attendance to the non-

chartered, non-tax supported school for their

children under the age of 18

* Must include child’s name, age and home
address;

Name, age and child’s residence is
required.

(2) The report shall be made to the treasurer
of the board of education of the city,
exempted village, or local school district in
which the pupil resides.

* Must be sent to the local school district
treasurer;

Notice sent to the local school treasurer.

(3) The report shall be made within the first
two weeks of the beginning of each school
year. In the case of pupil withdrawal or
entrance during the school year, notice shall
be given to the treasurer of the appropriate
board(s) of education. Such notice shall be
given within the first week of the next school
month.

* Must be sent within the first two weeks of each
school year;

* Must be sent within first week of next school
month if enrolling in the middle of the school
year; and

* Withdrawal notices must within the first week
of the following month.

Parents must inform the local public
school treasurer within the first 10 days
of school. Most often the school
completes the process for the parents.

Parents must inform the local public
school during the first week of the next
month after enrollment for Mid-year
enrollments.

3301-35-08 (C)

(C) Teacher and administrator qualifications.
Teachers and administrators shall have
received a bachelor's degree or the equivalent

Teachers and administrators must have a four
year post-secondary degree from a recognized
college or university.

Employment policies for teachers and
administrators must be adopted.
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thereof from a recognized college or
university.

3301-35-08 (D)

(D) Courses of study. Each non-chartered, non-
tax supported school shall have courses of
study for the following subjects:

(1) Language arts;

(2) Geography, the history of the United States
and Ohio, and national, state, and local
government;

(3) Mathematics;

(4) Science;

(5) Health;

(6) Physical education;

(7) The fine arts, including music;

(8) First aid, safety, and fire prevention;

(9) Other subjects as prescribed by the non-
chartered, non-tax supported school.

Each school must have courses of study for
students in each content area along with other
courses that may be adopted by the school, each
year.

Schools may develop or purchase
appropriate courses of study to meet
the school’s learning expectations.

3301-35-08 (E)

(E) Pupil promotion. Each non-chartered, non-
tax supported school shall follow regular
procedures for promotion from grade to grade
of pupils who have met the school's
educational requirements.

Schools must have a formalized grade promotion
system that reflects the school’s learning
requirements.

Mastery of learning objectives;
Assessment expectations;
Progress reporting systems to parents;

3301-35-08 (F)

(F) Pupil health and safety. Each non-
chartered, non-tax supported school shall
comply with state and local health, fire, and
safety laws inclusive of 3313.536 of the Ohio
Revised Code.

Schools must complete the safety and health
requirements set by state and local health, fire
and safety agencies.

Schools comply with implementing an emergency
and safety management plan.

Examples of health and safety practices
are, but not limited to appropriate
annual health, fire and safety
inspections and emergency
preparedness including school safety
plans

3301-35-08 (G)

(G) Pupils attending a non-chartered, non-tax
supported school are not entitled to pupil

Tax support services are not available for non-
chartered, non-tax supported school students

2015



Ohio

3301-35-08 Summary

transportation, and pupils attending a non- which include bus transportation and state

chartered, non-tax supported school are not
entitled to auxiliary services. A non-
chartered, non-tax supported school is not
entitled to nonpublic administrative cost

reimbursement.

funded auxiliary service materials or supports.

Resources:

Ohio Administrative Code /
Ohio Revised Code

Title

3313.48 Free education to be provided; hours in a school year
3313.5311 Access to public school extra-curricular activities
3313.536 School emergency management plans

3317.06 Providing materials to nonpublic schools

3317.063 Reimbursing nonpublic school for mandated service costs.
3327.01 Transportation of pupils

3365.03 Enrollment in CCP; eligibility.

3365.031 Restrictions on enroliment.

3365.033 Seventh and eighth grade student participation.
3365.04 Information regarding and promotion of the program.
3365.041 Notice of expulsion of student.

3365.05 Requirements for participants.

3365.06 Enrollment options.

3365.07 Funding and payment.

3365.071 Adoption of rules regarding allocation and distribution of payments.
3365.09 Reimbursement where student fails course.

3365.10 Application for waiver of requirements of program.
3365.11 Reimbursement where student fails course.

3365.11 Credential requirements for instructors.

3333-1-65.8 College Credit Plus requirements for secondary schools
5
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