2012 No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools Awardees

The No Child Left Behind – Blue Ribbon Schools Program (NCLB-BRS) is a national recognition program, honoring elementary and secondary schools in the United States that make significant progress in closing achievement gaps or whose students achieve at the highest levels in their state. Through this program, the U.S. Department of Education recognizes and presents as models these elementary and secondary schools.

The U.S. Department of Education allowed the Ohio Department of Education to nominate 14 public schools for the 2012 Blue Ribbon Schools award. At least five (5) of these 14 must have 40 percent or more students who qualify for free or reduced price lunch. Once nominated, these schools must apply to the U.S. Department of Education for this award. In keeping with No Child Left Behind, the application focuses primarily on student performance and scientifically based instructional programs.

There are two categories for nomination: 1) exemplary high performing schools and 2) schools with exemplary improvement. The schools with 40 percent or more poverty may fall into either category. Schools with less than 40 percent poverty only qualify for the high performing category.

The U.S. Department of Education invites the Council for American Private Education (CAPE) to nominate private schools that meet the high performing and dramatically improving criteria for recognition. Private schools interested in being nominated apply directly to CAPE. In submitting nominated schools, CAPE must certify that the schools meet the minimum requirements established by the Department and other criteria used to nominate schools. At a minimum, private school performance is measured by nationally normed tests. If a private school administers both state tests and nationally normed tests, the school must be among the highest in both.

Public Schools	District / Sponsor	County
Arcadia High School	Arcadia Local	Hancock
Bassett Elementary School	Westlake City	Cuyahoga
Butternut Elementary School	North Olmsted City	Cuyahoga
Chippewa High School	Chippewa Local	Wayne
Fairbanks High School	Fairbanks Local	Union
Hilliard Elementary School	Westlake City	Cuyahoga
Horizon Science Academy	Sponsor: Lucas County ESC	Franklin
Independence Primary School	Independence Local	Cuyahoga
Jefferson Avenue Elementary School	Shadyside Local	Belmont
Lincoln Elementary	Tiffin City	Seneca
Lincoln Elementary	Wadsworth City	Medina
Rocky River High School	Rocky River City	Cuyahoga
Western Reserve High School	Western Reserve Local	Mahoning

2012 Blue Ribbon School Awardees

Private Schools	Located in City	County
Holy Family School	Stow	Summit
Our Lady of the Elms Elementary School	Akron	Summit
St. Dominic School	Shaker Heights	Cuyahoga
St. Edward School	Ashland	Ashland