Please do not staple

Supplemental Teaching License Application
PERSONAL INFORMATION

- Department
SSN Ohlo of Education

- Office of Educator Licensure
-OR- Educator State ID 25 S. Front St., Mail Stop 105

Columbus, Ohio 43215

SUP

Birthdate Male |:| Female |:|

This application has 2 pages to be
First Name MI completed. Please complete using
black or blue ink only.

Last Name

Use this application for:
Address Supplemental Teaching License

Please check one:
. . N R |
City State Zip |:| ew |:| enews

Progression through a State
Equivalent Review

Home Phone Cell Phone

E-mail |:| Correct: Effective year or

- . Employing district
Other names that may appear on official documents (maiden, etc.)

Amount enclosed: $

BACKGROUND CHECKS

First Ohio License, Certificate or Permit
When an individual submits an application for his/her first license, certificate or permit issued by the Ohio Department of Education, a BCI and FBI background
check report, completed within 365 days of the date the application is received, must be on file at the Department of Education.

Renewals and Additional Licenses, Certificates or Permits

Have you lived continuously in Ohio for the past 5 years? You must check one:
O YES O NO
An FBI background check is required if the report on file with ODE is Both the BCI and FBI background checks are required if the reports on
more than 5 years old at the date the application is received. A BCI back- file with ODE are more than five years old on the date the application is
ground check is required if you do not have one on file with ODE. received.

Please note:
The Ohio Department of Education is not able to accept paper reports. All background check reports must be submitted to this office via electronic submission di-
rectly from the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation. When you have your fingerprints taken at a WebCheck facility, please ask the person taking the prints to
check the box under ‘Reason Fingerprinted’ to send to the Ohio Department of Education per the example below:

Reason Fingerprinted

(X! Send to the Ohio Department of Education

Please do not use the Department of Education address in the ‘mail to’ section because the department is not able to utilize paper reports.
For more information on how to complete this electronic process, please visit www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck.

LEGAL QUESTIONS (Each question MUST be answered by placing a ¢ in the appropriate box.)

If you answer YES to any question, attach an explanation to this application. Please include the year of conviction, the nature of the offense and the court where thg
matter was heard.

Yes [ ] No Have you ever been convicted of, found guilty of, pled guilty to, or pled no contest to any misdemeanor other than a traffic offense?
Yes [ ] No Have you ever been convicted of, found guilty of, pled guilty to, or pled no contest to any felony?

Yes [ ] No Have you ever had a criminal conviction sealed or expunged?

Yes [ ] No Have you ever had ANY professional certificate, license, permit, or an application for the same, revoked, suspended, limited or denied?
Yes [ | No Have you ever surrendered ANY certificate, license or permit, other than a driver’s license?

ooooo

APPLICANT SIGNATURE

I certify under penalty of loss of my right to teach or work in the schools of Ohio that the answers to these five questions are true
and correct in every respect.
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Use this application for: SUP

Supplemental Teaching License

CREDENTIAL INFORMATION (Indicate license requested.)

|:| New $40

Indicate the type requested (see code sheet) Indicate teaching field(s) requested (see code sheet)

Please refer to the requirements pages for additional information.

Renewal $40

1 [

Progression for individuals who have completed a State Equivalent Review (See General Instructions page for fee.)

Note: Individuals who complete an approved program of preparation at an Ohio college must submit the Initial License application signed by the
Ohio dean or head of teacher education verifying successful completion of the academic and experience requirements prescribed by the State Board
of Education and the laws of Ohio. Individuals who complete an approved program of preparation at a college outside Ohio must submit the Initial

License application for out-of-state applicants and submit all documentation requested in our Instruction Packet for Out-of-State Applicants.”

D Correct

" | Effective yearto . $20
Applicants must submit a letter on letterhead from the superintendent explaining the reason for the effective year change

[] Employing district to IRN#

Applicant must submit a letter, on letterhead from the superintendent of the former district, verifying the academic years taught and
assignments, and verifying that you are no longer employed in the district.

TEACHING EXPERIENCE

From/To

School District

City

Positions Held

Grades

EFFECTIVE YEAR

License to begin on July 1,

. The effective year will begin on July 1 regardless of the date of issuance.

SUPERINTENDENT SIGNATURE and MAIL TO ORGANIZATION

(All licenses are mailed to the employing Ohio school/district)

I hereby request a license for the individual named on this application and verify that a teacher licensed and experienced in the subject will be assigned as a
mentor for the supplemental license holder.

|:| Please check here to request a waiver of the requirement of 6 semester hours for the initial Intervention Specialist license.

School District

Signature of Ohio School Superintendent

Date

IRN #

APPLICANT SIGNATURE

| certify under penalty of loss of my right to teach or work in the schools of Ohio that the information provided on this page of the application are true and

correct in every respect.

Signature of Applicant

Print name

Date
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SUP

Requirements

SUPPLEMENTAL Teaching License
REQUIREMENTS
for
Career-Technical Workforce Development Areas

Initial Supplemental

A supplemental license may be issued at the request of an employing Ohio superintendent or head of school to the holder of a standard license who
evidences five years of fulltime work experience or the equivalent in the career field, and a minimum of three semester hours of an approved pre-
service career-technical program from a college or university that is approved to prepare career-technical workforce development teachers.
Applicants for an initial Workforce Development license based on an evaluation by the superintendent of the employing district (CTE-36) and
admission to an approved program at an Ohio college or university must include A COMPLETED CTE-37 FORM signed by the superintendent and the
university official.

First and Second Renewal
A CTE 37 Form signed by the superintendent and the university official verifying sufficient progress in the program must be submitted with the

renewal application.

Progression to the Standard License

Please complete the Initial License application and submit with a CTE-37 Form signed by the superintendent and university official verifying that all
academic and experience requirements have been met.

LICENSURE TEACHING FIELD CODES

Agriculture

010101 Animal Production

010200 Agribusiness

010300 Agricultural Industrial Equipment
010400 Food Science

010500 Horticulture

010600 Natural Resources

012100 Agricultural Biotechnology

Arts and Communications

340100 Visual Design and Imaging
340125 Media Arts
340130 Performing Arts

Business and Administrative Services

140300 Administrative Office Technology

140350 Legal Office Management

140370 Medical Office Management

140800 Business Administration and Management

Construction Technology

170100 Air Conditioning/Heating
171001 Carpentry

171002 Electrical Trades

171003 Heavy Equipment (Construction)
171004 Masonry

171005 Interior Design Applications
171007 Plumbing & Pipefitting

171011 Building & Property Maintenance
171017 Building Technology

171100 Custodial Services

173601 Millwork & Cabinet Making
179960 Diversified Cooperative Training

Education and Training
090201 Early Childhood Education and Care

for

Engineering and Science Technology

171402 Power Transmission

171504 Telecommunications

171650 Energy Science

171807 Engineering Technology-Design

171808 Engineering Technology-Process

171809 Engineering Technology-Product/Services
172000 Chemical Laboratory Assisting

172004 Industrial Lab Assisting

Finance

140100 Accounting

Government and Public Administration
360224 Government and Public Administration
Health Science

070101 Dental Assisting

070103 Dental Laboratory Technology
070203 Medical Laboratory Assisting
070204 Phlebotomy

070302 Practical (Vocational) Nurse
070303 Nurse Assisting

070305 Surgical Technology

070307 Home Health Aide

070410 Fitness Aide/Athletic Trainer Assisting
070603 Optometric Occupations
070904 Medical Assisting

070906 Community Health Aide
070912 Pharmacy Assisting

070913 Health Unit Coordinator
070994 Patient Care Technician
070998 Diversified Health Occupations (DHO)
074820 Tech Prep Diagnostic Cluster
074830 Tech Prep Therapeutic Cluster
074840 Health Support Systems
074850 Biotechnology

074890 Tech Prep Information Cluster

Hospitality and Tourism

041118 Travel & Tourism Marketing
090203 Culinary Arts & Food Service Management
090205 Hotels and Resorts
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Career-Technical Workforce Development Areas

Human Services

172601 Barbering

172602 Cosmetology

172610 Family and Community Services

Information and Technology
140200 Business and Information Services

Law and Public Safety

172801 Firefighter Training

172802 Criminal Justice

172808 Private Security

172809 Fundamentals of Public Safety

172810 Career Paths for the Law Profession
172811 Emergency Medical Technician-Secondary

Manufacturing Technologies

170200 Appliance Repair

170375 Automation and Robotics

170380 Manufacturing Operations
171012 Industrial Maintenance and Repair
171300 Drafting Occupations

171503 Electronics

172302 Precision Machining

172303 Manufacturing Operations
172306 Welding and Cutting

Marketing Education

047000 Marketing Communications
040810 Marketing Management
041900 Acquisition & Logistics
044105 Entrepreneurship
Transportation Systems

170301 Auto Collision Repair

170302 Auto Technology

170303 Auto Specialization

170400 Aviation Occupations

170401 Aircraft Maintenance

170403 Ground Operations

171200 Medium/Heavy Truck Technician
173100 Power Equipment Technology
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SUP

Requirements

SUPPLEMENTAL Teaching License

REQUIREMENTS
for
Early Childhood, Middle Childhood, Adolescence 7-12, Multi-Age P-12,
Intervention Specialist K-12, Early Childhood Intervention Specialist, and Endorsements
Initial Supplemental

A supplemental license may be issued at the request of an employing Ohio superintendent or head of school to the holder of a standard license who
evidences appropriate coursework (official transcripts required) as follows:

Early Childhood 12 semester hours in professional early childhood education
Middle Childhood 20 semester hours in EACH subject requested
Adolescence 7-12 20 semester hours in EACH subject requested

Note: Integrated areas for Adolescence 7-12 require 40 semester hours and must evidence an appropriate distribution of coursework.
Example: Integrated science must include coursework in life science, earth science, physics and chemistry.

Multi-Age K-12 20 semester hours in EACH subject requested
Intervention Specialist K-12 6 semesters in intervention specialist coursework
Early Childhood Intervention Specialist P-3 6 semester hours in early childhood intervention specialist coursework

Note: For Intervention Specialist K-12, and Early Childhood Intervention Specialist P-3 licensure, initial coursework may be waived at the
request of the employing superintendent if he/she determines that the teacher’s experience and training sufficiently enables them to meet
the needs of the assigned students.)

Endorsements 6 semester hours in the endorsement area

First Renewal

Applicants for the first renewal must submit official transcripts evidencing an additional six semester hours, or nine quarter hours of appropriate
coursework in the area for which the license is issued.

LIGENSURE TESTS:
Subject Assessment
Successful completion of the Subject Assessment test is required for the first renewal of the Supplemental teaching license for
applicable Subject areas. Please visit our website at www.education.ohio.qgov keyword "Licensure Exams."

ACTFL
World language teaching fields require the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI)
and Writing Proficiency Test (WPT). Information about the ACTFL tests may be accessed on their OPI and WPT website at
www.languagetesting.com.

Note: A rating of INTERMEDIATE-HIGH or higher is required on the ACTFL.

Second Renewal

Applicants for the second renewal must submit official transcripts evidencing an additional six semester hours, or nine quarter hours of appropriate
coursework in the area for which the license is issued.

Progression to the Standard License — For Equivalent review by the Office of Educator Licensure Only

Individuals who request the equivalent review for licensure must submit all official transcripts evidencing all coursework completed for the new
license or area, and a letter on letterhead from the employing superintendent or head of school verifying successful completion of a minimum of two
years of mentored teaching under the supplemental teaching license.

Note: Individuals who complete an approved program of preparation at an Ohio college must submit the Initial License application
signed by the Ohio dean or head of teacher education verifying successful completion of the academic requirements prescribed by the
State Board of Education and the laws of Ohio. Individuals who complete an approved program of preparation at a college outside Ohio
must submit the Initial License application for out-of-state applicants and submit all documentation requested in our Instruction Packet
for Qut-of-State Applicants.
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SUP

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS Codes and Tests
for
SUPPLEMENTAL Teaching License

FEES:

The appropriate fee must accompany each application. DO NOT SEND CASH. Please make check or money order payable to:

Treasurer, State of Ohio. Please note: $25 of the fee is non-refundable.

1-Year Supplemental License, new or renewal $ 40
Correct effective year or employing district $ 20

Progression to the standard license:

Progression to a four year resident educator license $160
Progression to a five year professional license $ 200
Note: If your existing 5-year professional license was renewed this year with the current effective date, the fee will be reduced to $20.

Progression to add a teaching field to an existing license $ 20

MAIL TO:  Ohio Department of Education
Office of Educator Licensure
25 S. Front Street, Mail Stop 105
Columbus, Ohio 43215-4183
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