
Criteria for Alternative Pathway to Graduation 
 
 

1. On the one [OGT]...for which the person failed to attain the designated score, the 
person missed that score by 10 points or less;  

Note: This means a scaled score of at least 390 on the failed OGT. 

2. Has a 97 percent school attendance rate in each of the last four school years, 
excluding any excused absences;  

Note: Excused absences are defined by local school district policy. 

3. Has not been expelled from school...in any of the last four school years;  

Note: The statute does not address other student disciplinary outcomes, such 
as suspension. 

4. Has a grade point average of at least 2.5 out of 4.0, or its equivalent as designated 
in rules adopted by the state board of education in the subject area of the [failed 
OGT];  

Note: The conversion chart can be found on the Ohio Department of 
Education Web site at http://education.ohio.gov, keyword Alternative 
Pathway. 

5. Has completed the [state] high school curriculum requirements...in the subject 
area [of the failed test];  

Note: This applies to a student’s eligibility to be considered for an alternative 
pathway only. To receive a diploma, the student must also satisfy school 
district graduation requirements. 

6. Has taken advantage of any intervention programs provided by the school district 
or school in the subject area [of the failed OGT]...and has a 97 percent attendance 
rate, excluding any excused absences, in any of those programs that are provided 
at times beyond the normal school day, school week or school year or has 
received comparable intervention services from a source other than the school 
district or school;  

Note: Students are only subject to this criterion if they were offered 
intervention. If so, the attendance requirement refers to their rate of 
participation. 

7. Holds a letter recommending graduation from each of the person's high school 
teachers in the subject area [of the failed OGT]...and from the person's high 
school principal.  

Note: If the student’s teacher from a specific course is no longer available, a 
person with sufficient knowledge to make an informed recommendation may 
substitute. 

Source:  Ohio Revised Code (ORC) §3313.615 
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