Employing nonrenewable temporary substitute teaching license applicants
Following the recent passage of House Bill 583, the Department will be issuing nonrenewable temporary substitute teaching licenses for the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 school years. The 1-Year Temporary Non-Bachelor's Substitute Teaching License allows an applicant who does not hold a postsecondary degree but meets the employing school or district’s set of educational requirements to serve in the role of a substitute teacher.
The legislation does not allow the Department to issue this credential until Sept. 23. However, under Ohio Revised Code 3319.36 and 3319.101, schools and districts may conditionally employ individuals with pending applications for substitute teaching licenses for up to 60 days from the date of application.
To ensure schools and districts can conditionally employ these individuals between Aug. 1 and Sept. 23, the Department will begin accepting applications for 1-Year Temporary Non-Bachelor’s Substitute Teaching Licenses Aug. 1. The process for employing these individuals will be as follows:
- Applicants submit the temporary application Aug. 1 or after for the 2022-2023 school year;
- Once the Department receives an application, the local school board may conditionally employ the person as a substitute teacher for a period of 60 days. To hire the individual, the employing superintendent must believe the individual’s application indicates the person is qualified to obtain the substitute teaching license;
- On Sept. 23, the Department will begin rapidly processing all pending applications to ensure they are processed within the 60-day conditional employment period. Please note the period of conditional employment shall last for 60 days or until the licensure application has either been issued or declined, whichever comes first.
After Sept. 23, the Department will resume processing 1-Year Temporary Non-Bachelor’s Substitute Teaching License applications in the normal fashion. Conditional employment will remain available to local boards as allowed under Ohio law. Contact the Office of Educator Licensure at Educator.Licensure@education.ohio.gov