About the State Board of Education

The State Board of Education is made up of 19 members - 11 who are elected and eight who are appointed by the governor. The chairs of the education committees of the Ohio House of Representatives and Ohio Senate serve as non-voting ex officio members. The Superintendent of Public Instruction serves as secretary of the State Board of Education.

Our Members

Our Meetings

State Board of Education meetings generally occur on the second Monday and Tuesday of each month.

Ohio Sunshine Law requires that these meetings be open to the public, except executive session and quasi-judicial discussion. Members of the public have opportunities to address the State Board during the Chapter 119 hearing and during the Public Participation portion of the agenda.

Board schedules, agendas, minutes are published regularly. Audio files from State Board meetings are posted within five business days. 

Last Modified: 2/24/2021 2:48:09 PM