World Languages

On June 12, 2012, the State Board of Education unanimously adopted Ohio's New Learning Standards for K-12 World Languages. The standards are composed of a set of three independent standards documents, which are aligned with Ohio’s primary world language program articulations:

      a.   Kindergarten through 12th grade;
      b.   6th through 12th grades; and 
      c.   9th through 12th grades.

These Learning Standards will be fully in use in Ohio classrooms by 2014-2015. ODE encourages districts to begin implementing these learning standards in world language classrooms now to better prepare students for 2014-2015 and beyond. 

Click on the links below to access charts comparing Ohio's New Learning Standards

for K-12 World Languages (2012) with the Academic Content Standards: K-12 Foreign Languages (2003).

Click on the links below to access the information.

Additional Resources

SLO Guidance for World Language Educators

Last Modified: 2/25/2014 3:28:57 PM

Pursuant to ORC 3301.079 (B) (3) and 3313.60, it is the responsibility of Ohio's local boards of education to vet and approve curriculum and educational materials for use in the public schools within their district. The use of any materials posted or linked to on the Ohio Department of Education website, including materials within the Common Core State Standards or Appendices or any state model curricula or other educational resource material, is entirely up to the discretion of each local board of education.