Overall Sponsor Ratings

Overall Sponsor Ratings

What's a Sponsor? A sponsor has the authority (ability) to establish a community school. Sponsors ensure that schools adhere to their contracts, and they make important decisions, such as whether to renew contracts with community schools. They also provide oversight and technical assistance.

What's a Community School? Community schools, which are often called charter schools nationally and in other states, are public schools created in Ohio law; are independent of any school district; and are part of the state’s education program. Community schools are public schools of choice and are state and federally funded. 


The Ohio Department of Education and Workforce annually evaluates community school sponsors on three components:
  1. The academic performance of the community schools they sponsor.
  2. Their compliance with all applicable laws and rules.
  3. Their adherence to quality sponsoring practices.

Summary Result Files

This page hosts the most recent sponsor evaluation information, listing results from the past five cycles. Historical information prior that will be available upon request.

*Note: The state’s education community experienced unprecedented impacts during the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years due to the coronavirus pandemic. The Ohio General Assembly passed emergency legislation which excluded the Academic Performance component from the sponsor evaluation process for 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 evaluation cycles. For the 2019-2020 cycle, the emergency legislation also eliminated the rating requirement for the compliance and quality components. As a result, the scores for these two components were published as report-only. For the 2020-2021 cycle, the emergency legislation maintained the ratings for the compliance and quality components - but the ratings will have no impact on penalties or incentives.

Schools excluded from academic calculation files

Active Sponsors

Inactive Sponsors

If you would like to obtain documentation for any of the inactive sponsors listed below, please contact the department for assistance.

  • Auglaize County ESC
  • Barnesville Exempted Village
  • Buckeye Local
  • Cardington-Lincoln Local
  • Cincinnati City
  • Coshocton City
  • Cuyahoga Falls City
  • Dayton City
  • Fairborn City
  • Field Local
  • Franklin Local
  • Groveport Madison Local
  • Hamilton Local
  • Jackson City
  • Jefferson County ESC
  • Kids Count of Dayton, Inc.
  • Lakewood City
  • Lakewood Local
  • Lawrence County ESC
  • Lima City
  • London City
  • Lorain City
  • Mahoning County ESC​
  • Mercer County ESC
  • Marion City
  • Massillon City
  • Miamisburg City
  • Montgomery County ESC
  • Mount Gilead Exempted Village
  • Newark City
  • Northmont City
  • Norwood City
  • Oregon City
  • Pickerington Local
  • Pleasant Local
  • Reynoldsburg City
  • Ridgedale Local
  • Rittman Exempted Village
  • Rolling Hills Local
  • Scioto County Career Technical Center
  • Southwest Licking Local
  • Summit County ESC
  • Toledo City
  • Tri-County ESC
  • University of Toledo
  • Urbana City
  • Van Wert City
  • Warren County ESC
  • West Carrollton City
  • Youngstown City


Last Modified: 6/13/2024 9:37:40 AM