District Supports

The U.S. Department of Education reauthorized the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) with the Every Student Succeeds Act. As a part of the reauthorization, the Ohio Department of Education re-evaluated student performance data in Ohio’s districts and schools to update its lists of schools and districts that need state support to improve student performance.

The Ohio Department of Education refers to the schools and districts on these lists as “Support Schools” and “Support Districts.” School and district support categories include:

District support categories include Independent, Watch, Moderate Support, Intensive Support and Academic Distress Commission districts. Each category of support schools and districts receive is a distinct package of supports from the Ohio Department of Education that corresponds to improvement needs. Ohio calls this its “differentiated accountability” system.

Additional Information

Last Modified: 12/7/2021 8:31:27 AM