Adoption and Purchase of Textbooks

Ohio public school districts must adopt or purchase printed or electronic textbooks from publishers approved by the Ohio Department of Education that have agreed to sell textbooks to school districts in Ohio at a price no more than the lowest list wholesale price available to school districts in any other state. Publishers also must meet accessibility requirements outlined in law. Ohio is a local adoption state; therefore, individual school districts may choose the textbooks that best meet the needs of their curriculum, as long as all publishers are chosen from the approved list.

Please notify the Department if an approved publisher fails to comply and offers or lists a price for a printed or electronic textbook higher than the wholesale list price in another state.

Neither the State of Ohio nor the Ohio Department of Education endorse or recommend textbooks or publishers. Please review the Pricing and Accessibility Compliant List and contact publishers directly for pricing.

Please note, the Department does not approve the content of the textbooks or educational materials sold by approved textbook publishers nor does the Department represent that the content of the textbooks or educational materials align with Ohio’s operating and educational standards.

Instructions for Pricing and Accessibility Compliance 

Textbook publishers requesting to be placed on the list must satisfy the requirements set forth in Ohio Revised Code 3329.01 and Ohio Administrative Code 3301-51-21 each year. For more information, download this information packet:

Guidelines for the Use of Electronic Textbooks and Materials Used in the Course of Instruction

These guidelines provide a summary of factors for districts to consider when electing to use electronic textbooks and other electronic devices and materials used in the course of classroom instruction.


Pricing and Accessibility Compliant Publishers for 2023

Activate Learning
Liz Pabon - lpabon@activatelearning.com
Phone: 888-698-8463
Beford Freeman & Worth Publishing Group (MacMillian)
Hannah Spratt - adoptions@bfwpub.com
Phone: 417-429-0815 ext. 222
Carpenters International Training Fund
Diana Lucas - diana.lucas@carpenters.org or Joe Travis - jtravis@ohcap.org
Phone: (Lucas) 702-806-9164 or (Travis) 513-539-7849
Carnegie Learning, Inc.
Shawna Tysse - stysse@carnegielearning.com
Phone: 618-806-4635
Cengage Learning
Beverly M. Jones - bev.jones@cengage.com
Phone: 513-229-1532
Cheng & Tsui Co., Inc.
adoptions@cheng-tsui.com
CompuScholar
Chris Yust - chris.yust@compuscholar.com
Phone: 866-604-2357
CPM Educational Program
Carmel Draper – orders@cpm.org
Phone: 209-745-2055
Website: cpm.org/

Davis Publications, Inc.
Laura Flavin – bids@davisart.com
Phone: 800-533-2847 ext. 1749
Website: davisart.com

Great Minds
Heather Todorov – Heather.Todorov@greatminds.org
Phone: 734-730-3888
Goodheart-Wilcox Publisher
Jennifer J. Selby – jselby@g-w.com
Phone: 800-323-0440
Website: g-w.com

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Kendra Smith - kendra.smith@hmhco.com
Phone: 720-473-7450
Website: hmhco.com

Kendall Hunt Publishing
Meg Yeakey - myeakey@kendallhunt.com
Phone: 800-542-6657
Website: k12.kendallhunt.com

McGraw-Hill LLC
Kim Harvey - bidsandcontracts@mheducation.com
Phone: 800-338-3987
Website: mheducation.com

Mujo Learning Systems
Lexi Bentley – lbentley@mujo.com
Phone: 1-888-536-6856
Website: mujo.com/

ORIGO Education
Chris Sidor – c_sidor@origomath.com
Phone: 1-888-674-4601
Perfection Learning
Jennifer Pustejovsky – jpustejovsky@perfectionlearning.com
Phone: 214-543-4210
QuaverEd, Inc
Eric Wormsbaker – vendors@quavered.com
Phone: 866-917-3633
Website: quavered.com

Ramsey Education (Ramsey Solutions)
Robyn Olson - robyn.olson@ramseysolutions.com
Phone: 615-777-0354
Website: ramseyeducation.com

Red Bank Publishing
Edward D. Laughbaum - ed@redbankpublishing.com
Phone: 614-563-1835
Website: redbankpublishing.com

Sadlier, A Division of William H. Sadlier, Inc.
Jim Devlin - jdevlin@sadlier.com
Phone: 513-349-7716
Studies Weekly
Jasmine Sexton – adoptions@studiesweekly.com
Phone: 801-615-9137  
The Math Learning Center
Shanel Parette - shanelp@mathlearningcenter.org
Phone: 1-800-575-8130
Vista Higher Learning
Carla Levia – cleiva@vistahigherlearning.com
Phone: 617-351-4869
Zaner-Bloser, Inc.
Laureen Reynolds – rfpservices@zaner-bloser.com
Phone: 614-486-0221
Website: zaner-bloser.com
 

Last Modified: 1/25/2023 8:41:27 AM

Pursuant to ORC 3301.079 (B) (3) and 3313.60, it is the responsibility of Ohio's local boards of education to vet and approve curriculum and educational materials for use in the public schools within their district. The use of any materials posted or linked to on the Ohio Department of Education website, including materials within Ohio’s Learning Standards or Appendices or any state model curricula or other educational resource material, is entirely up to the discretion of each local board of education.