Physical Education Resources
Randi Myers, Physical Education Consultant, will partner with Stark County ESC for bi-monthly meetups during the 2022-23 school year beginning in September 2022.
Updated schedules will go out monthly. Please sign up for alerts or view the information on the Virtual Meetups webpage.
OTES 2.0 General Guidance
High-Quality Student Data Instruments
Choosing and using high-quality student data (HQSD) to guide instructional decisions and meet student learning needs is key in making sound instructional decisions for students. The teacher evaluation will use at least two measures of district-determined high-quality student data to provide evidence of student learning attributable to the teacher
being evaluated. HQSD may be used as evidence in any component of the evaluation where applicable.
Physical Education Legislation and Resource Links
Prescribed Curriculum ORC 3313.60
Physical Education Credit Flex Guidelines
Physical Education Graduation Requirements ORC 3313.603
Physical Education Waiver
Physical Education Waiver Requirements
Instructional Time Requirements in Physical Education
Ohio law requires Ohio districts and schools to develop curriculum for physical education. Schools are required to offer physical education each year to all students in grades kindergarten-grade 8; however, the law does not specify the number of hours required for students in grades K-8. Students in grades 9-12 must obtain 120 hours to meet graduation requirements. Scheduling of physical education hours is determined by the local district or school.
As outlined in Ohio Administrative Code 3301-35-4 (B), local school districts or schools must implement a curriculum and instructional program characterized by systematic planning, articulation and evaluation. The curriculum should be developed with input from parents, community members and other stakeholders.
In Ohio Revised Code 3302.032, the measurement of student success in meeting physical education benchmarks and school compliance should be reported to the state.The Department offers data sheets for reporting benchmark evaluations to EMIS.
High School Physical Education Credit in 8th Grade Guidelines
To offer a grade 8 student a high school physical education class and award credit:
1. The grade 8 physical education curriculum or content must be as rigorous or more rigorous than the high school course.
2. Districts should ensure that 8th graders receiving grade 8 physical education credit are not in the same class as those in grade 8 receiving high school credit.
3. The grade 8 student should have been assessed on the 6-8 physical education evaluations prior to enrolling in the high school course and scored “advanced” proficiency on 6-8 grade evaluations. The grade 8 student taking high school credit must be assessed on the 9-12 physical education evaluations.
4. In addition to the "advanced" proficiency evaluation, districts should also administer an advance placement test or evaluation prior to students entering the high school course in grade 8.
5. This course must meet the high school graduation time requirement of 60 hours or more to award 1/4 credit. The physical education graduation requirements requires a total of 1/2 credit, but in grade 8 students can only receive half of the total requirements for graduation. The student must take an additional semester (60 hours) of physical education in high school to earn the total amount for graduation.
6. The teacher of this course must have a 9-12 physical education license.
If the student is electing to utilize the physical education waiver once in high school:
- Students who completed an 8th grade PE class and received advanced work credit for the PE 1/2 unit should not apply for a PE waiver.
- The 8th grade 1/2 PE unit must be recorded on the student’s high school transcript. .
- Students using the physical education waiver cannot mix and match with general physical education courses.
- Should not have been submitted for evaluations during their grade 8 year under the grade 9-12 grade band benchmark evaluation to EMIS.
Professional Organizations Associated with Physical Education
Last Modified: 10/3/2023 9:47:05 AM
Pursuant to ORC 3301.079 (B) (3) and 3313.60, it is the responsibility of Ohio's local boards of education to vet and approve curriculum and educational materials for use in the public schools within their district. The use of any materials posted or linked to on the Ohio Department of Education website, including materials within Ohio’s Learning Standards or Appendices or any state model curricula or other educational resource material, is entirely up to the discretion of each local board of education.