District and Building Social-Emotional Learning Resources

K-12 Social and Emotional Learning Standards

Ohio's K-12 Social and Emotional Learning Standards are provided by grade bands (kindergarten-grade 3, grades 3-5, middle grades and high school) and provide a continuum of development across five competencies: Self-Awareness, Self-Management, Social Awareness, Relationship Skills and Responsible Decision-Making. The social and emotional learning standards are for all students, kindergarten through grade 12, with the understanding that each child develops at his or her own pace and may excel in one set of skills while struggling in another.

Social and Emotional Learning Virtual Meetup Recordings

Birth - Kindergarten Social and Emotional Learning Standards

In 2012, the State Board of Education adopted the Early Learning and Development Standards for children birth-kindergarten entry. These standards include the Social and Emotional Development domain that addresses the skills, knowledge and behaviors that children develop within awareness and expression of emotion, self-concept, self-regulation, sense of competence and relationships with others. The Ohio Department of Education provides guidance and professional development around these standards, including implementation guides for teachers.

Last Modified: 5/14/2021 3:53:27 PM