STEM Committee

The STEM Committee of the department of education is established in Ohio law (Ohio Revised Code 3326.02), and consists of the following members:

  • the superintendent of public instruction
  • the chancellor of the department of higher education
  • the director of development
  • four members of the public, two of whom are appointed by the governor, one of whom is appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, and one of whom is appointed by the president of the senate.  Members of the public are appointed based on their expertise in business or in STEM fields.

The committee authorizes the designation of STEM schools based on proposals submitted to the committee. Visit the STEM Committee Meeting Minutes page to learn about what was discussed.

STEM Committee Roster

Dr. Julia Simmerer
Senior Executive Director of the Center for Teaching, Leading and Learning
Ohio Department of Education
Designee for the Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction

Dr. Krista Maxson
Associate Vice Chancellor, P-16 Initiatives
Ohio Department of Higher Education
Designee for the Chancellor of the Department of Higher Education

Eric Leach 
Deputy Director, Ohio Governor's Office of Workforce Transformation
Ohio Development Services Agency
Designee for the Director of Development 

Dr. Tom Schwieterman
Vice President of Clinical Affairs and Chief Medical Office
Midmark Corporation
Appointed by the Ohio State Senate

Ellen Marrison 
Content Strategist
The State Science & Technology Institute 
Appointed by the Governor

Andrew L. Aichele 
Senior Director, Education Engagement 
Center of Science and Industry
Appointed by the Governor

Jeff Polesovsky
Vice President of Public Policy
Columbus Partnership
Appointed by the Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives

Last Modified: 6/12/2023 1:19:27 PM