Background Check FAQs

Everyone must submit background checks for credentials issued by the Ohio Department of Education. These credentials include licenses, certificates and permits, as well as the non-tax certificates and permanent certificates that have no expiration date.

Who

Where

How

Cost

Employers

Rapback

General Questions


Who

    Who is required to complete background checks?

    All candidates seeking their first Ohio educator license, certificate or permit must submit both Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) and FBI criminal background checks. Your background checks must be no older than one year (365 days) at the time the Department issues your initial credential.

    Additionally, everyone who holds a credential issued by the Ohio Department of Education must complete FBI background checks every five years. Please note that credential holders are responsible for obtaining required updated background checks within the five year timeframe prescribed by law, even if the expiration date of a background check does not coincide with the expiration date of the Department-issued credential.

    Back to Top


    Who can I contact regarding the status of my background checks?

    You may contact BCI at 877-224-0043 or P.O. Box 365; London, OH 43140. You also may log into your account and view your background check information from your Dashboard. If you cannot find the information you need on your Dashboard, you may call the Office of Educator Licensure at 1-877-644-6338 (toll free) or (614) 466-3593 for assistance.

    Back to Top


Where

    Where can I go to complete the BCI and FBI background check requirement?

    We recommend you first check with your local school district or your region’s Educational Service Center. If they do not use WebCheck to complete background checks, then check with your local law enforcement agency, or use the Ohio Attorney General’s website to find a convenient location.

    Back to Top


    Where do I send the results of my background checks?

    Please request that the WebCheck facility sends the results directly to the Ohio Department of Education.

    Back to Top


How

    How do I have my background checks completed?

    You must have both BCI and FBI background checks completed electronically through WebCheck unless:

    1. You live 75 miles or more away from the nearest WebCheck facility; or
    2. You have a history of ‘bad quality prints’ that cannot be captured on a WebCheck screen.

    Back to Top


    How long does it take for the Department to receive my background check results?
    The Department typically receives clear WebCheck results within a few days. However, BCI processing time varies. Additionally, the process may take several weeks if the Bureau finds a record in the criminal background check.

    Back to Top


    How often after my initial licensure do I need to complete background checks for my Ohio credential?

    All Ohio credential holders must submit FBI background checks to the Department every five years. You may also need to submit BCI background checks every five years if any of the following occur:

    • You live outside of Ohio at any time after obtaining the BCI check; and/or
    • You allow your Department-issued credential to expire.

    Back to Top


    How do I look up when my background checks expire?
    You may log into your account and view your background check information from your Dashboard (under My Background Checks). 

    Back to Top


    How can I find out if my application is on hold for a background check?
    You may log into your account to see the status of your application (under My Application Status).
     

    Back to Top


Cost

    What is the cost of a background check?

    Costs vary, depending on the location or agency providing the service. Please contact the WebCheck facility for cost information.

    Back to Top


    Will my employer pay for my background checks?

    Please check with your employer. Employers are not required to pay for employee background checks, but they may offer to do so.

    Back to Top


Employers

    Am I required to have my employee(s) complete background checks for employment?
    Schools, districts and Educational Service Centers (ESCs) must request background checks for applicants who will be assigned duties involving interaction with or the regular responsibility for children. Please see section 3319.39 of the Ohio Revised Code for additional information.

    Back to Top


Rapback

    Who is required to be enrolled in Rapback?

    All Ohio credential holders must be enrolled in the BCI Rapback service. After the Office of Educator Licensure approves your application for initial licensure, the Office of Professional Conduct enrolls you into the Rapback service. If you continuously maintain an active credential, you will remain enrolled in the Rapback service.

    Back to Top


    What are the requirements for enrollment in Rapback?

    Rapback enrollment requires your BCI background check. All candidates seeking their first Department issued credential must submit fingerprints through the BCI background check process. You must have your background checks completed no more than one year (365 days) before the date the Department issues your initial credential for enrollment in Rapback.

    Back to Top


    How do I look up my Rapback enrollment status?

    You may log into your account and view your Rapback enrollment status from your Dashboard (under My Background Checks).

    Back to Top


    Why would someone be unenrolled from Rapback?

    If you allow your Department issued credential to lapse for longer than a year, you will be unenrolled from the Rapback system. If you have been unenrolled from the Rapback system and wish to become licensed again, you must have a current (no older than 365 days) BCI background check on file at the time the Department issues your credential.

    Back to Top


    Where can I find more information about Rapback?

    Please review the Frequently Asked Questions About Rapback webpage for more information regarding the Rapback system.

    Back to Top


General Questions

    Can I send the Department a paper copy or upload a copy of my background checks to my account?

    The Department must use the background checks reported electronically by BCI. Please do not send paper copies to the Department, and do not upload copies of your background checks to your account.

    Back to Top


    Can I use my background checks from another state?

    Due to differences in state statutes regarding the scope of educator criminal background checks, you may not use your out-of-state background check for credentials issued by the Department.

    Back to Top


    Can the Department send a copy of my background checks to my employer?

    The Department receives only electronic verification of your background check information and cannot forward this information to anyone.

    Back to Top


    I already had my background checks completed for my employment. Can I have those results sent to the Department?

    If the BCI results are less than one year old (365 days), you may request that BCI sends them to the Department for use in processing your licensure application. Contact BCI at 877-224-0043 for more information.

    Back to Top


    What happens if the Department receives my background check results before I apply for an Ohio credential?

    The Department will hold the background check results and match them with your application, provided your identifying background check information matches the information you included in your application.

    Back to Top


    What happens if there is a delay in getting my background checks?

    The Department will hold applications for a maximum of 60 days to allow sufficient time for receipt of background check results. Your application will automatically decline, and you will be charged a nonrefundable $25 processing fee if you do not have your background checks completed and submitted to the Department within the 60-day hold period.

    Back to Top


    What if my fingerprints cannot be taken electronically or by ink?

    Please contact BCI at 877-224-0043 to learn the specifics regarding this and what steps to take to have your criminal background checks reported.

    Back to Top


    Why do I need to submit background checks to my employer and the Department?

    The Department checks for certain offenses listed under section 3319.31 of the Ohio Revised Code. Schools, districts and Educational Service Centers (ESCs) must also request background checks for applicants who will be assigned duties involving interaction with or the regular responsibility for children, per section 3319.39 of the Ohio Revised Code.

    Back to Top


Last Modified: 4/23/2019 4:11:07 PM