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Student Transportation Contractors  
The Ohio Department of Education & Workforce does not issue licenses or authorizations for pupil transportation contractors to do business in the 

state. For a starting point on doing business in Ohio, see Businesses - Ohio Secretary of State. This document provides a high-level overview of 

considerations and requirements specific to student transportation. 

Vehicle and Driver Requirements 

• ORC Section 4511.76 and OAC 3301-83-19  Authorized  vehicles for the transportation of pupils to and from school and school-related 

events set forth the types of vehicles authorized for student transportation. In addition to yellow school buses, alternative vehicles (for 

example, passenger vans) may be used depending on the passenger capacity.  

• Before transporting students, school bus and van drivers must meet requirements including but not limited to meeting physical 

qualifications, completing pre-service training, criminal records checks, and “Rapback” enrollment.  More information is available at Bus 

Drivers | Ohio Department of Education and Workforce;  Van Drivers | Ohio Department of Education and Workforce; and Rapback. 
 

IRNs, OEDS, and Electronic Driver Database 

Ohio law (ORC 3327.10) prohibits schools and districts from employing or contracting with unqualified bus or motor van drivers. The Department 

maintains a centralized electronic database (SFPS) so that districts and schools can access driver records to confirm a contractor’s drivers are 

qualified. In order for drivers to be entered in SFPS, several steps must be completed:  

• Obtain a IRN from the Department by emailing Schoolbus@ohio.education.gov. 

• Set up an OEDS account 

o Enter each driver’s information AND associate the driver with the school district and/or school that is contracting for the pupil 

transportation service. 

o Identify the school district or community school’s transportation supervisor as a “data reviewer” in OEDS. 

More detailed information is available here Ensuring Proper Reporting of Driver Qualifications; Ohio Educational Directory System (OEDS) 

 

 

https://www.ohiosos.gov/businesses/
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4511.76
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3301-83-19
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-3301-83-19
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Transportation/Driver-Training/Bus-Drivers
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Transportation/Driver-Training/Bus-Drivers
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Transportation/Driver-Training/Van-Drivers
https://education.ohio.gov/Media/Ed-Connection/May-13-2024/Action-needed-Districts-and-schools-prepare-for-Ra
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcodes.ohio.gov%2Fohio-revised-code%2Fsection-3327.10&data=05%7C02%7CHolly.Fischer%40education.ohio.gov%7Ce9a49b74bddf4346cdfc08dcb5785303%7C50f8fcc494d84f0784eb36ed57c7c8a2%7C0%7C0%7C638584775594424077%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=2m%2BL3zD67iPBSswI84cgKNCHqeIZqOpYFk8S3RDIumQ%3D&reserved=0
mailto:Schoolbus@ohio.education.gov
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Finance-and-Funding/School-Transportation/Driver-Training/Van-Drivers
https://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Data/Ohio-Educational-Directory-System-OEDS
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Ohio Private Pupil Transportation License  

Community schools, nonpublic schools, and private contractors who own and operate a yellow school bus with flashing red and amber lights, as 

defined in ORC 4511.01, must have a private pupil transportation license (PPTL). They must meet all the requirements listed above and have at 

least one active certified bus driver in the SFPS system. Schools or contractors must contact the Ohio State Patrol to apply for a PPTL. (OSP Contact 

number: 614-466-3682). 

Ohio PUCO Registration 

Ohio also requires registration of for-hire, intrastate (in-state) motor carriers, but provides an exception for the transportation of pupils in school 

buses operating to or from school sessions or school event.  ORC 4921.01; OAC 4901:2-21-03.   “For-hire motor carrier" means a person engaged in 

the business of transporting persons or property by motor vehicle for compensation, except when engaged in any of the following in intrastate 

commerce: The transportation of pupils in school buses operating to or from school sessions or school events.   

For more information, contact Motor Carrier Registration MCRegistration@puco.ohio.gov (800) 686-8277. 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Regulations for Motor Carriers  

Many organizations, contractors, and schools use vans and buses to transport students for a variety of reasons. There are many criteria that 

determine whether a van or bus used to transport students or passengers for an educational purpose is subject to commercial or safety 

regulations. 

• What Determines if a Passenger Vehicle is Regulated? Generally, Federal safety regulations apply when you operate a “commercial motor 

vehicle” in interstate commerce. To determine whether your bus or van is a commercial motor vehicle, it is necessary to consider vehicle 

size, passenger capacity, and in some cases whether the operations are for-hire. If you are transporting passengers in any size vehicle 

interstate and for-hire, the operating authority registration and other commercial regulations also generally apply. There are specific 

exemptions, however, for certain operations. 

 

• Am I Conducting For-Hire Passenger Transportation? If you transport passengers across a state line, even occasionally, and you accept 

any type of payment for the transportation, you are for-hire and operating in interstate commerce.  Unless exempted, “for-hire” motor 

carriers transporting passengers in interstate commerce must comply with FMCSA’s commercial regulations including operating authority 

registration (USDOT number). 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4511.01
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4921.01
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/rule-4901:2-21-03
mailto:MCRegistration@puco.ohio.gov
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USDOT NUMBER 

The USDOT Number serves as a unique identifier when collecting and monitoring a company's safety information acquired during audits, 

compliance reviews, crash investigations, and inspections. 

Unless an exception applies, a USDOT number would be required for vehicles that are “commercial motor vehicles” (CMVs). A Commercial Motor 

Vehicle (CMV) is: 

• A vehicle designed or used to transport more than 8 passengers (including the driver) for compensation; 

• A vehicle designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers (including the driver), and is not used to transport passengers for 

compensation; or 
• A vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating or gross weight of more than 10,000 pounds. 

 

Refer to 49 CFR Section 390.5 for a complete CMV definition. 

For more information go to Do I Need a USDOT Number? | FMCSA. 

SCHOOL BUSES 

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) apply to school buses that are CMVs in certain situations.  The FMCSRs are applicable when 

a school bus provides for-hire interstate transportation other than home to school and school to home and is not operated by a State or local 

government.  For more information go to Information for School Bus Operators | FMCSA. 

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

49 CFR Part 387 requires for-hire motor carriers operating in interstate commerce to have minimum levels of public liability insurance in the 

amounts below: 

• Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or more (including driver): $5,000,000 

• Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 15 passengers or fewer (including driver): $1,500,000 

EXCEPTIONS 

• The financial responsibility requirements do not apply to a motor vehicle transporting only school children and teachers to or from school. 

• The financial responsibility requirements do not apply to a motor vehicle operated by a motor carrier under contract to provide 

transportation of pre-primary, primary, and secondary students for extracurricular trips organized, sponsored, and paid for by a school 

district. 

https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/CFR-2024-title49-vol5/CFR-2024-title49-vol5-sec390-5
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/do-i-need-usdot-number
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/passenger-safety/information-school-bus-operators
https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/CFR-2024-title49-vol5/CFR-2024-title49-vol5-part387

