

## State Committee on Computer Science

COSI Columbus, OH 43215 *Wednesday, July 6, 2022* 9 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

## **Meeting Minutes**

*Members present:* Mike Duffey, John Wiseman, Katie Hendrickson, Chelsey Cook Kohn, Kelli Shrewsberry, Debbie Jackson, Tsavo Knott, Tasha Penwell, Bryan Stewart, Rebekah Michael, Lisa Chambers, Patricia Murakami, Tonjia Coverdale, David Landreman, Brent Wise, Jake Lee, Doug McCollough, Autum Barry

*Members absent*: Courtney Falato, Paula Naa Quartey, Tim Conley, Paul Sivilotti, Ted Griffith Mike Eilerman, Lisa Nolan, Tom Newman, Kristi Clouse

Committee facilitator Kelly Gaier-Evans welcomed the committee members to the 10th State Committee on Computer Science meeting. Committee Chair Mike Duffey motioned to approve the June 1-2 meeting minutes. The committee members approved.

Ms. Gaier-Evans gave a brief overview of the July 6 agenda and recapped the previous work. The committee reviewed the K-8 course recommendations in the draft State of Ohio Computer Science Plan in a full-group discussion. Then the committee broke into two smaller groups to further discuss what changes should be made within the plan for K-8 and high school.

Ms. Gaier-Evans pulled the groups back together after 20 minutes. A speaker from each group shared the changes their group suggested, and another full-group discussion ensued. After the discussion, the committee did a sticky-note vote for high school course CS programming, high school course computer service and K-8 recommendations. This vote drove the afternoon's work.

The committee reconvened after an hour of lunch. The high school team led a discussion on the course codes and courses that should be used for graduation requirements. The committee reviewed the current course codes and made a yes and no vote on what will be included. After, Ms. Gaier-Evans guided the committee toward discussing surface thoughts. She gave guiding questions and broke the committee into two groups; one to review the Executive Summary through Next Steps and one to review the recommendations component within the report. Each group shared their discussion.

Ms. Gaier-Evans concluded the meeting and Mr. Duffey explained the next steps with the public comment period. Ms. Gaier-Evans adjourned the meeting.

Next meeting: Aug. 30