

Mike DeWine, Governor Stephanie Siddens, Ph.D, Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction

Ohio STEM Committee Meeting Minutes

June 3, 2022

3:04pm - 3:23pm

Microsoft Teams

Virtual

Committee Members Attending in-person:

Dr. Tom Schwieterman, VP of Clinical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer at Midmark Corporation, STEM Committee Chair appointed by the Ohio State Senate

Dr. Melissa Weber-Mayrer, Ph.D., Director of the Office of Approaches to Teaching and Professional Learning at The Ohio Department of Education, Designee for the Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction

Ellen Marrison, Content Strategist, The State Science & Technology Institute, appointed by the Governor

Dr. Krista Maxson, Associate Vice Chancellor, P-16 Initiatives, Ohio Department of Higher Education, Designee for the Chancellor of the Department of Higher Education

Jeff Polesovsky, Vice President of Public Policy, Columbus Partnership, appointed by the Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives

Committee Members Absent:

Eric Linder, Executive Director of the Ohio Third Frontier, Ohio Development Services Agency, Designee for the Director of Development

Andrew L. Aichele, Senior Director of Engagement & Education at COSI

Ohio Department of Education (ODE) Attending:

Dr. Teresa Dempsey, Ph.D., Assistant Director for Personalized Learning

Mary Ellen Dobransky, STEM Administrator

Janna Mino, STEM Education Program Specialist

Holly Fischer, Legal Counsel

Kyaundra Ellis, Administrative Professional 2

Ohio STEM Learning Network (OSLN) Attending:

Kelly Gaier Evans, OSLN Director

Dr. Sandra Wilder, Ph.D., OSLN STEM Relationship Manager

Ohio Department of Education (ODE) Staff Recording Meeting Minutes:

Kyaundra Ellis, Administrative Professional 2



Mike DeWine, Governor Stephanie Siddens, Ph.D, Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction

Opening:

Dr. Tom Schwieterman called the committee meeting to order at 3:04pm.

Welcome and Introductions

Dr. Tom Schwieterman invited everyone to introduce themselves.

Approval of Agenda

Motion made to approve this meeting's agenda made by Ellen Marrison, seconded by Eric Linder. No opposed. Motion approved.

Discussion Items:

STE(A)M Re-Designation Process | TIME

Mary Ellen Dobransky, STEM Administrator at the Ohio Department of Education, thanked the committee for joining on short notice to discuss the topic of STEM Re-Designation. Mary Ellen provided an update of the STEM Re-Designation process to the committee and discussed the Ohio Revised Code 3326.03 and 3326.032 which states: If a school is designated as a STEM school under this section, a school maintains it's designation for five years. At the end of the five-year period, a school must re-apply to maintain designation.

There are currently 45 schools which are affected by this process. Based on the law, schools must re-apply for designation before the 2023-2024 school year begins. The committee will look largely at compliance and then focus on the quality control to make sure we are maintaining the integrity of designation. The Ohio Department of Education has developed an obligation by the legal department a redesignation compliance application for all schools that are beyond their five-year designation which will be sent by June 10, 2022. Schools will have to complete their compliance application by July 11, 2022.

Janna Mino, STEM Education Program Specialist at the Ohio Department of Education, shared with the committee that the top priority and the understanding of the implementation of the five-year limit designation and re-designation is to uphold the integrity of this recognition. The compliance application presented today are for the 45 schools who applications will expire at the end of this school year. After the 45 school submit their compliance applications by July 11, the STEM Committee will meet again in July to approve continued designation for the schools who complete the compliance application. The law states: Schools who complete their re-designation compliance application will receive five additional years of STE(A)M Designation based on the pending STEM Committee vote. ODE and OSLN are drafting plans, timelines and documents for Quality Monitoring which will follow the compliance application. The department is also collaborating on the details for the; corrective action plans in preparation for schools that do not meet quality monitoring criteria. In the compliance application, schools are agreeing to participate in the quality monitoring, corrective action plan and school site visits.

Motion made by Dr. Tom Schwieterman, to approve Compliance Application, seconded by Ellen Marrison. No opposed.

Affirmative Votes: Melissa Weber-Mayrer, Eric Linden, Krista Maxon, Ellen Marrison



Mike DeWine, Governor Stephanie Siddens, Ph.D, Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction

Public comments:

No additional public comments were made.

Adjournment:

The next STEM committee meeting is July 25, 2022.

Motion made by Dr. Tom Schwieterman, to adjourn, seconded by Ellen Marrison. No opposed.

Affirmative Votes: Melissa Weber-Mayrer, Eric Linden, Krista Maxon, Ellen Marrison

Dr. Tom Schwieterman adjourned the committee meeting at **3:23pm**.