Guidance on Schedule Change from Days to Hours

Beginning in the 2014-2015 school year, traditional school districts, joint vocational school districts and chartered nonpublic schools will be required to comply with minimum hours of instruction instead of a minimum number of school days each year.

  • No schedule can be in effect that does not comply with all parts of the new minimum hours law (ORC 3313.48).
  • If a school district does not believe it can make the necessary changes and comply with the law beginning on July 1, 2014 (the effective date of the law), the Ohio Department of Education recommends that the school district begin the process before July 1, 2014.

Collective Bargaining Agreements

The change from days to hours does not apply to a collective bargain agreements executed prior to July 1, 2014.  If the district continues a collective bargaining agreement past this date, the district would remain subject to current requirements on the number of days in a school year, including calamity days. Read More

Minimum Hours and What Hours Count

School districts, joint vocational school districts, and chartered nonpublic schools will be required to be open for instruction for a minimum of:

  • 455 hours for students in half-day kindergarten;
  • 910 hours for students in full-day kindergarten through Grade 6; and
  • 1,001 hours for students in Grades 7-12.

Community schools must be open for instruction for at least 920 hours per year. This does not represent a change. Read More

2014-2015 Calamity Days

Beginning with the 2014-2015 school year, districts that change to an hour-based schedule will no longer have calamity days. Instead, schools may schedule “excess” hours above the minimum number. Hours missed above the minimum do not have to be made up. However, if a school closes enough that it will fall below the minimum number of hours, the school must extend its scheduled year. Read More

Changing the Schedule

A traditional school district board of education (not applicable to joint vocational school districts) must hold a public hearing at least thirty days prior to adopting its school schedule. While not required prior to July 1, 2014, the Ohio Department of Education recommends that a public hearing be held if the traditional district is proposing a change in its schedule in hours or days. Read More

Resources

Guidance on Schedule Change from Days to Hours

Last Modified: 3/18/2014 3:13:00 PM