The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the nation's highest honors for mathematics and science teachers. The program recognizes teachers for their contributions to instruction and learning, as well as their ability to help students make progress in mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Nomination and Application

Nominations are now open until April 1 for the 2015 awards, which are for  teachers of grades 7 through 12 at both public and private schools. If you know great math and science teachers, nominate them to join this prestigious network of professionals. Each year Ohio chooses up to three candidates as finalists for both mathematics and science.

To nominate or apply for the PAEMST Awards, visit the PAEMST website for complete details about the nomination guidelines, application process and submission.

Once nominated, teachers are requested to submit an application and a video that reflects exemplary teaching by May 1.

Nominations for elementary school teachers, kindergarten through grade 6, will be accepted next year.

Why apply?

In addition to recognizing outstanding teaching in mathematics or science, the program provides teachers with an opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital resource for improving science, technology, engineering and mathematics education, and keeping America globally competitive.

Who is eligible?

Awards alternate annually between elementary and secondary teachers, as shown below:

  Application Opens Nomination Deadline Application Deadline
Elementary Teachers
Fall 2015 04/01/2016 05/01/2016
Secondary Teachers
Fall 2014 04/01/2015 05/01/2015

Who is eligible for the 2015 PAEMST?

The following are eligibility criteria for nominations. They must:

  • Teach mathematics or science at the 7-12 grade level in a public or private school.
  • Hold at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution.
  • Hold a valid teaching credential.
  • Be a full-time employee of the school or school district as determined by state and district policies, and teach seven to 12 students at least 50 percent of the time.
  • Have at least five years of full-time, 7-12 grade mathematics or science teaching experience prior to the 2014-2015 academic school year.
  • Teach in one of the 50 states or the four U.S. jurisdictions. The jurisdictions are Washington, DC; Puerto Rico; Department of Defense Education Activity schools; and the U.S. territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands).
  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
  • Not have received the PAEMST award at the national level in any prior competition or category.

PAEMST is open to outstanding mathematics and science teachers in all 50 states and the U.S. jurisdictions. In addition to honoring individual achievement, the goal of the award program is to exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching.

Presidential awardees receive a:

  • Citation signed by the President of the United States;
  • Paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities; and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

2014 Ohio finalists

Marcy Burns, an elementary science teacher at Main Street Intermediate School, Norwalk City Schools.

Susan Dankworth, an elementary math teacher at Hook Elementary School, Troy City Schools.

Rosemary Krupar, an elementary science teacher at Crestwood Intermediate School, Crestwood Local Schools.

Stephanie Nowak, an elementary science teacher at Dale R. Rice Elementary, Mentor Exempted Village Schools.

2013 Ohio finalists

Pamela Holman, a high school science teacher at River Valley High School, River Valley Local Schools.

Christopher Monsour, a high school science teacher at Tiffin High School, Tiffin City Schools.

Amy Roediger, a high school science teacher at Mentor High School, Mentor Exempted Village Schools.

Karma Vince, a middle school math teacher at McCord Junior High School, Sylvania City Schools.

Uyen Zimmerman, a high school math teacher at Dublin Coffman High School, Dublin City Schools.


Awardees by year

2012 Ohio Awardees

Natalie Harr, an elementary science teacher at Crestwood Primary School,
Crestwood Schools.

Elizabeth Pitzer, an elementary mathematics at Arcanum-Butler Middle School,
Arcanum Butler Local School District

2011 Ohio Awardees

Tami Fitzgerald, a high school science teacher at West Muskingum High School,
West Muskingum Local School District.

Carole Morbitzer, a high school mathematics teacher at Hamilton Township High School, Hamilton Local Schools District.

2010 Ohio Awardee

Erin Renee King, a gifted science intervention specialist at Felicity Franklin Elementary
and Middle School, Felicity Franklin School District.

2009 Ohio Awardees

Rebecca Link, a middle school mathematics teacher with Fort Recovery Middle School,
Fort Recovery Local Schools

Sandee Coats-Haan, a high school science teacher at Lakota East High School,
Lakota Local Schools

2008 Ohio Awardees

Sharon Hall, a mathematics teacher at South Lebanon Elementary School,
Kings Local School District.

Sally Pellegrin, an elementary science teacher at Clara E. Westropp Elementary School,
Cleveland Municipal Schools.

Last Modified: 3/31/2015 12:13:17 PM