Office for Exceptional Children Contact Information

The Office for Exceptional Children provides leadership, assistance and oversight to school districts and other entities that provide differentiated instruction for students with disabilities and gifted students.

Among its responsibilities, the office administers state and federal funds; coordinates and administers programs to improve outcomes for students with disabilities and gifted students; implements a statewide monitoring and complaint-resolution system designed to assess district/educational agency compliance with applicable federal and state laws and regulations; and provides technical assistance to districts and educational agencies around issues of compliance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA).

General Contact Information

(P) 614-466-2650
(Toll free) 877-644-6338
(F) 614-728-1097
25 S. Front Street, Mail Stop 409
Columbus, Ohio 43215

For callers using TTY, please call Ohio Relay Service at (800) 750-0750.

Office for Exceptional Children Staff Information

Questions?

Contact Form for Questions

Staff

JoHannah Ward, Director
johannah.ward@education.ohio.gov

Nikki Poindexter, Administrative Professional, Director's Office
nikki.poindexter@education.ohio.gov

Beth Arledge, Program Administrator, Director's Office

Monica Drvota, Associate Director 
monica.drvota@education.ohio.gov 
 
Diane Loomis, Administrative Professional
diane.loomis@education.ohio.gov
 
Carol Baker, Administrative Professional, Dispute Resolution
carol.baker@education.ohio.gov 

Heidi Kleinman, Assistant Director, Dispute Resolution
heidi.kleinman@education.ohio.gov

Sarah Buoni, Assistant Director, Diverse Learners
sarah.buoni@education.ohio.gov
 
Maria Lohr, Assistant Director, Gifted
maria.lohr@education.ohio.gov

Shelley Beard, Assistant Director, Supports and Monitoring
shelley.beard@education.ohio.gov
 
Sarah James, Assistant Director, Resource Management
sarah.james@education.ohio.gov

Andrea Faulkner, Assistant Director, Urban Support
andrea.faulkner@education.ohio.gov

Kara Waldron, Program Administrator
kara.waldron@education.ohio.gov

Kaellen Craft, Data Manager
kaellen.craft@education.ohio.gov

Last Modified: 1/21/2021 8:48:56 AM