Approved List of Research-Based Reading Instruction Programs

Research – Based Reading Instruction Program Guidance (6/20/13)

Teachers of third grade students who are either on a reading improvement and monitoring plan, or have been retained, may hold a credential or complete a scientifically research-based reading instruction training program from the Ohio Department of Education’s approved list to meet the Sub. Senate Bill 21 teacher qualifications requirements.  This credentialed and training program option is only viable until 2016. 

The programs on the ODE approved list below have met both Educator and Program Criteria.  In January 2014, the State Board of Education will adopt reading competencies.  Once the reading competencies are adopted, this program list will be reevaluated to determine if the programs align to the reading competencies.   Only those programs that align to the reading competencies will remain on the list.


  • Literacy Specialist Endorsement
  • TESOL Endorsement
  • Active National Board Certification- Early and Middle Childhood(applies to literacy, reading, language arts)
  • IMSLEC (International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council), ALTA (Academic Language Therapy Association), AOGPE (Academy of Orton-Gillingham Practitioners and Educators)
  • Reading Recovery
  • Literacy Collaborative (coach or teacher)
  • Success for All (SFA)
  • Wilson Language Training- Wilson Reading System Level 1 Certification
  • Orton-Gillingham (30 hr-training) / IMSE (Institute for Multi-Sensory Education) *must include practicum
  • Leveled Literacy Intervention System (LLI)
  • CLLIP (Collaborative Language and Literacy Instruction Program)
  • LLI (Leveled Literacy Intervention System)
  • AFTCRIP (American Federation of Teachers Comprehensive Reading Instruction Program)




Program CriteriaThe program must support the development, intervention and acceleration of reading in children.  The program must include high quality learning experiences within the program that:

Educator Criteria:  In addition, the educator who completed and is implementing the program must have:

  1. provide opportunities for differentiated instruction and intervention;
  1. participated in a clinical/ practicum working with students (supervised);
  1. promotes screening and progress monitoring that provides prescriptive diagnosis and informs instruction to meet the student where they are in order to move and accelerate their reading development;  
  1. a knowledge of the quantitative, qualitative, and matching text to reader components of the text (text complexity); 
  1. align to Common Core state standards in reading/English language arts which includes the five essential components of reading;
  1. demonstrated the ability to administer intervention for at risk students; and


  1. encourage literacy across the curriculum;  
  1. designed effective instruction based on the student’s reading needs.
  1. foster culturally responsive teaching;



Please direct further questions to:




Last Modified: 2/10/2014 3:50:33 PM