Innovative Strategies for Developing College and Career Readiness for Students with Disabilities

The Ohio Department of Education, Office for Exceptional Children is pleased to announce NEW Grant Recipients for the 2018-2019 school year. Funded strategies will provide an opportunity to improve secondary transition services and post-school outcomes not only for students with disabilities, but for each and every student. Please see below for a list of the recipients and contact information.  

Grant Recipients for the 2018-2019 school year

Download a printabIe copy of the table below for the 2018-2019 school year.

 SST 

Lead Agency

Strategy Title

Contact

1 Paulding County Exempted Village School District   Leading Panthers to the Future  Loni Porinchok  l_porinchok@pauldingschools.org
 
2 Elyria City Schools   Expanding Community Experiences to Urban Youth and Their Families to Support Life After High School 
 
Denise Blatt blattdenise@elyriaschools.org 
3 Albert Einstein Academy of Ohio  Increasing Personal Competencies for Students with Disabilities in the Area of Post-Secondary Transition and Community Involvement 
 
Bruce Thomas bruce.thomas@aeaohio.org 
4 Chardon Local Schools  Differentiation Not Disability: UDL at Chardon 
 
Ed Klein
ed.klein@chardonschools.org 
5 Mahoning County Educational Service Center  Career Awareness and Exploration Framework  Linda Yosay
l.yosay@mhoningesc.org
6 Madison Champaign County Educational Service Center  Training for LIFE Patricia Kauffman and Terri MacDonald patricia.kauffman@mccesc.org and terri.macdonald@mccesc.org
7 Highland Local Schools  Small Business Spirit Shop  Amy Randolph
Amy_r@hlsd.us 
8 Portage Lakes Career Center  Development of a Cohesive Transition Program to Increase Career-Tech Opportunities for Students with Disabilities 
 
Bill Stauffer
WStauffer@plcc.edu
9 Canton City Schools Transition to Success  Lee Ann Devore Devore_l@ccsdistrict.org 
 
10 Greene County Career Center Career X: Virtual Driving Simulator  Jenny Adkins
jadkins@greeneccc.com 
11 Educational Service Center of Central Ohio  Transitioning for Success Christine Galvin Christine.galvin@escco.org 
12 Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center Determined to Succeed Cathy Morgan and Caren Maniaci Cathy.morgan@mvesc.org and caren.maniaci@mvesc.org 
13 Lockland Local Schools  Career Awareness   Bob Longworth and Justin Gibson Bob.longowrth@locklandschools.org and Justin.gibson@locklandschools.org 
 
14 Fairfield Local School District  Community Experiences  Mendy Hamilton mendyrhamilton@icloud.com 
15 Portsmouth City Schools  Developing Healthy Relationships  Johnda Connally
johnda.connally@portsmouthtrojans.net
16 Gallia-Vinton Educational Service Center Empowering Students for Transition  Denise Shockley 90_dshockley@seovec.org 

Previous Grant Recipients

The Department’s Office for Exceptional Children (OEC) proudly funded 20 innovative strategies grant recipients during the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 school years. An external evaluation of the project was completed by CH Smith & Associates, LLC. View a summary of the evaluator’s report for more information.

OEC supported focused implementation for 17 of these recipients (marked with *) during the 2017-2018 school year. OEC thanks all grant recipients for their dedication to making a difference!

Last Modified: 6/27/2019 11:01:23 AM