Fine Arts

The Ohio Department of Education encourages visual and performing arts educators to use the standards to help develop the creative imagination, skills and dispositions that students need in order to be challenged to discover and learn, prepared to pursue a fulfilling post-high school path and empowered to become a resilient lifelong learner who contributes to society.

The Fine Arts encompasses the following content areas:

  • Dance
  • Drama/Theatre
  • Music
  • Visual Art

Education in the Fine Arts is essential in developing the whole child. Our Content Standards and Model Curriculum address each of the following Learning Domains:

  • FOUNDATIONAL KNOWLEDGE & SKILLS.  Instruction in the arts enhances the learning of literacy, numeracy and technology
  • WELL-ROUNDED CONTENT. Instruction in the arts expands students' understanding of the world around them
  • LEADERSHIP & REASONING. Instruction in the arts fosters design thinking, creativity and problem solving
  • SOCIAL-EMOTIONAL LEARNING. Instruction in the arts develops self-awareness, social awareness and relationship skills

Last Modified: 9/5/2018 4:01:56 PM

Pursuant to ORC 3301.079 (B) (3) and 3313.60, it is the responsibility of Ohio's local boards of education to vet and approve curriculum and educational materials for use in the public schools within their district. The use of any materials posted or linked to on the Ohio Department of Education website, including materials within Ohio’s Learning Standards or Appendices or any state model curricula or other educational resource material, is entirely up to the discretion of each local board of education.