Banner for Ohio students selected for United States Senate Youth Program

Ohio students selected for United States Senate Youth Program


The United States Senate Youth Program announced that high school students Saron Tefera and Cordelia Rachel Rutgert Van der Veer will represent Ohio at the 60th annual United States Senate Youth Program. Tefera is a student at Anderson High School in Cincinnati and Van der Veer is a student at Toledo Technology Academy.

The two seniors are among the state’s top student leaders and will be part of the 104-member national student delegation. In March, they will join Senator Sherrod Brown and Senator Rob Portman for the program. The 2022 program will be held online, through a comprehensive and highly interactive virtual education and leadership forum. The students also will receive a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study. Read more about these accomplished students on the Department’s website.

More information about the United States Senate Youth program is available on the national program webpage. Ohio’s selection process is on the Department’s program webpage, along with the national press release.