Multiple Disabilities

Definition of Multiple Disabilities

“Multiple disabilities” means concomitant [simultaneous] impairments (such as intellectual disability-blindness, intellectual disability-orthopedic impairment, etc.), the combination of which causes such severe educational needs that they cannot be accommodated in a special education program solely for one of the impairments. The term does not include deaf-blindness.

A group of qualified professionals and the parents of the child may determine the child has multiple disabilities if the child exhibits:

(1) A combination of two or more areas of disability as defined in rule 3301-51-01 of the Administrative Code, except for a combination that includes a specific learning disability; and

(2) A severe or profound deficit in communication or adaptive behavior documented through the use of individually administered standardized instruments which have been validated for the specific purpose of measuring communication or adaptive behavior.



Ohio Center for Autism and Low Incidence (OCALI)

The Ohio Center for Autism and Low Incidence (OCALI) is primarily funded through a grant from the Ohio Department of Education (ODE). The Office for Exceptional Children (OEC) at the Ohio Department of Education provides funding to OCALI to build state- and system-wide capacity to improve outcomes for children with disabilities including individuals with autism and low-incidence disabilities through leadership, training and professional development, technical assistance, collaboration and technology.

The Ohio Center for Autism and Low Incidence (OCALI) serves families, educators and professionals working with infants, preschool and school-age children and adults with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and low-incidence disabilities – including hearing impairments, visual impairments, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairments and other health impairments.

Ohio's Academic Content Standards Extended (OACS-E)

The Ohio Academic Content Standards – Extended (OACS-E) also are commonly known as "the extended standards." These standards help to ensure that students with significant cognitive disabilities are provided with multiple ways to learn and demonstrate knowledge. At the same time, the extended standards are designed to maintain the rigor and high expectations of Ohio’s Learning Standards.

Last Modified: 12/6/2023 12:13:05 PM