The HSE Updates Page will provide the most up-to-date information concerning the State of Ohio HSE Office.
Update as of 01/12/2021
Effective January 11, 2021,
Online proctoring will be available for the High School Equivalency Program. The same guidelines are applicable for the online proctoring.
More information on the GEDHTML ®; Online Proctoring
More information on the HiSET® Exam at Home
- All test takers must be Ohio residents, and are eligible for one voucher code per vendor;
- Age requirements for test takers 16, 17, and 18 years of age remain the same;
- Although HiSET At Home uses a different voucher code, test takers who have received a used a voucher code for the paper or online test, are not eligible for a new code; and
- Test takers who wish to take the GED Online Proctored (OP) exam, must take and pass the GED Ready. There are no discounted retakes for the OP exam.
Many of our Preparation Centers within the education community have received inquiries regarding the online proctoring that is availble by both GED® and HiSET. As of right now, the State of Ohio has not yet begun this process. Please check back for additional information regarding the online proctoring.
Effective July 1, 2020,
TASC/DRC high school equivalency test will not be available in Ohio. All test takers must complete testing by June 30, 2020. Scores for the TASC/DRC test will not merge with GED or HiSET scores. Voucher codes are available for first time test takers on both the GED and HiSET tests. Test takers must be an Ohio Resident to receive a voucher code and take the high school equivalency exams.
Due to COVID-19:
All test-takers must verify if a test center or preparation center are open prior to testing or class time. Both the testing centers and preparation centers will be practicing social distancing during both testing and class time.
All test takers for the GED® and HiSET must be an Ohio Resident.
DiplomaSender price change for third party vendors only:
Effective January 1, 2020, the price for verification (transcripts/diplomas) will increase by from $15.00 to $25.00 for third party request only.
Price change effective January 2019:
Computer (CBT) - delivered tests: $18.75 per subtest ($93.75 total cost)
Paper (PBT) - delivered tests: $23.00 per subtest ($115.00 total cost)
Compare the two testing vendors for the State of Ohio
- As of January 8, 2019, the fee structure has changed for first-time test takers. The fee structure is included in the updated test comparison document and listed below.
- GED $120 (voucher code $80) – tester pays: $40 for all four tests
- HiSET $93.75 (voucher code $80) – tester pays: $13.75 for all five tests - CBT
- HiSET $115 (voucher code $80) - tester pays: $35 for all five test - PBT
- Currently, voucher codes are available through your local Career Technical Planning District (CTPD) office for first time computer based test takers only for the GED® and HiSET test. The voucher codes will expire June 30, 2021.
- August 2017, the Ohio Department of Education has approved GED and HiSET to become the testing assessment companies for the High School Equivalency test for the State of Ohio. Additional information will be forthcoming. Continue to check our website for updates.
- On June 14, 2016, Gov. John R. Kasich signed into law under Sub. House Bill 113 changes to the GED Office. The primary goal of these changes is to increase options for test takers. The law will not go into effect until Sept. 14, 2016. The changes are as follows:
- Allow the Ohio Department of Education to approve at least two nationally recognized high school equivalency tests. Testing assessments being considered: GED and HiSET;
- The Ohio High School Equivalence Diploma will be recognized as the Ohio Certificate of High School Equivalence as of Sept. 14, 2016. All previously awarded Ohio High School Equivalence Diplomas will still be considered valid; and
- Age requirement change for 16-, 17- and 18-year-old test takers including:
- A test taker who is 16, 17, or 18 will be eligible to test under the following guidelines:
- Officially withdrawn from school and has not received a high school diploma or honors diploma; and
- A test taker who is 16 or 17 years of age must submit a consent form signed by either the parent, guardian or court official. Consent Form
- The following documents will no longer be required for test takers who are 16, 17, or 18 years of age.
- Good Cause Form;
- Extenuating Circumstance Form;
- Transcript; and
- Back-up documentation.
*16, 17 or 18 year old test takers must submit a copy of the withdrawal form signed by a school official.
Last Modified: 5/17/2021 12:08:06 PM